Two Quick NEC Code Questions - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-15-2009, 01:44 AM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Also what I do is mark the circuit number inside the junction box as well in case someone fuber'ed the cover all I do is go back and look at the junciton box where I scribble in the circuit number.

It came handy more than once in couple resdentail home I work on many years ago and common in commercal location { it pretty much mantory anyway }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2009, 10:19 AM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Your going to find that most panels that have been installed for a few years are so screwed up as for the labeling that your only choice is to make a new index. I used to open an excel spread sheet and build a new index for the customer then have it laminated. Typical manufacturer labels can in no way allow you to itemize what is on a branch circuit in most homes that have been messed with.....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2009, 11:47 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
I believe to be code compliant your spreadsheet label must be on the inside of the panel door or on the face of the panel cover, not on the wall next to it. This may be a jurisdictional thing, as my inspector said that I couldn't have it on the wall next to the panel (even though it was close enough that the paper and the tape was actually touching the panel). I like the spreadsheet idea myself, I only indicate the ampacity of the circuit and the function, all the breakers match the wire size of the entire circuit (at least as far as I know).
Inspector has been here 2x, he liked the spreadsheet idea
Maybe some would find fault with it

Yeah, the panel at my last house was a mess




Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 06-15-2009 at 11:54 AM.
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2009, 12:33 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,013
Rewards Points: 528
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Inspector has been here 2x, he liked the spreadsheet idea
Maybe some would find fault with it

Yeah, the panel at my last house was a mess
I didn't say there was anything wrong with the spreadsheet idea, just with the placement of it. If your inspector hasn't said anything about it needing to be on the panel cover then i'd say your ok. I just know my inspector had a problem with it being on the wall next to the panel verses on the panel door (seems like a stupid thing to worry about, but whatever).

The spreadsheet certaintly allows for a much cleaner label and so long as you save the file someplace safe you can edit it when you alter or add additonal circuits. After a panel has been in use for a number of years, the original factory label tends to crumble and flake off or the pencil markings tend to fade and become un-readable.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 07:53 PM   #20
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 8
Default


I had to open my Grandmama's breaker box to kill the power to replace a broken switch. My first shock (not literally ) was that it is on the OUTSIDE of her house. My second (no shock, I suppose) was, that of the six circuits only two were labelled, from the original install. It took my mother, two cell phones, and five breaker throws to find the circuit I needed.

BTW, I label every JBOX with the corresponding breaker number, I also label every rec and switch, the same. And, because, well, you can never have too many labels, I also label cables where they exit and enter JBOXs, walls, etc.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 09:01 PM   #21
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
BTW, I label every JBOX with the corresponding breaker number, I also label every rec and switch, the same. And, because, well, you can never have too many labels, I also label cables where they exit and enter JBOXs, walls, etc.
I'd like to call you crazy.. But I do the same thing.

Well, I don't label switches or counter top receptacles.. But the rest is true.
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 09:06 PM   #22
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 8
Default


Put more than three switches in a gang. You'll want to label them too.

[I don't gang more than two switches for this reason - in my parent's house my dad has several gangs of threes and fours. Even after living in the house for 10 years - I still can't tell you which switch does what. My neighbor's new build house has three different gangs with six switches - all labeled.]
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 09:20 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I only use quad boxes, but I use duplex switches
I never use the triple boxes or larger, just don't like the look
So I have a number of places that have 3 switches
I don't label any of them

The front door has a triple switch on one side, hall light/front porch/post light
Then on the other side is a dual switch for the fan/light




Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 06-15-2009 at 09:23 PM.
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 11:16 PM   #24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


For the op, a day late and a dollar short:

http://books.google.com/books?id=lrS...esult&resnum=5 Be safe, G
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
couple of code questions ponch37300 Electrical 9 01-26-2009 10:45 AM
Handrail building code questions - Canada Peterpantz Carpentry 7 10-26-2008 12:24 PM
Quick cabinet painting questions jimithing78 Painting 2 08-20-2008 12:46 AM
Michigan code questions rondo Electrical 1 12-22-2005 10:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts