Two Ground Screws In One Jb - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By joed
  • 1 Post By joed
  • 1 Post By Bria Johnn
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-11-2017, 09:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Two ground screws in one jb


In Canada here...I've seen electricians use two ground screws in one box, factory design.Question is this...is it appropriate to use two separate ground screws for two separate circuits in a junction box?The junction box itself is a transition point from romex to conduit.
J.Fanton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2017, 09:32 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,769
Rewards Points: 30,854
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Two ground screws in one jb


It makes no difference. All grounds need to be connected from all circuits.
Bria Johnn and J.Fanton like this.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2017, 01:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Two ground screws in one jb


Hey thanks for the reply...so using both ground screws in the box is permitted?
J.Fanton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2017, 02:15 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,769
Rewards Points: 30,854
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Two ground screws in one jb


Absolutely. And since the screws have a shoulder beside them on the box, two wires per screw is permitted. Do not wrap just slide one on each side of screw and tighten.
J.Fanton likes this.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 08:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 193
Rewards Points: 390
Default

Re: Two ground screws in one jb


Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Fanton View Post
Hey thanks for the reply...so using both ground screws in the box is permitted?
An instructor once told me Ground is Ground. The metallic connection makes them one and the same.
J.Fanton likes this.
Bria Johnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground wire from panel to ground rod swbrains Electrical 46 09-03-2014 05:05 AM
Grounding Boxes Keep Changing Perry401 Electrical 18 06-13-2014 04:27 PM
How does grounding work? scyarch Electrical 44 06-12-2012 04:59 PM
Fried electronics after earth ground accidentally disconnected oukachiru Electrical 7 07-12-2011 03:05 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts