Trying To Run Wires... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-14-2010, 10:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

trying to run wires...


I hope this is the correct place to ask this question.


I am LOST. I want to run network and cable throughout my house and I have a major problem in my walls.

There seems to be some type of wood all along the bottom of my walls like 8 or so inches high... I hit wood no matter where I try to put in a wall jack. I have never built a wall or house but every diagram I see of the typical wall type doesn't have this extra piece of wood. What do I do?
mburgess44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2010, 11:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default


I went up higher and still hit wood. Moved over 2 feet... wood.

It's almost like my entire wall has a wood covering or something... What is it and should I be able to drill through and run my wires anyway?
mburgess44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2010, 11:09 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Where are you located ?
What style house ?
Is there a basement below ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2010, 11:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Sorry.. I am in Virginia and there is a basement.

I have a brick house but it has been added onto several times. This is an exterior wall I am trying to drill into. My TV sits in the corner and I am trying to drill about 3 feel from the corner.
mburgess44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 11:29 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


How old is the house?

Do you have drywall on this wall?

If it does have drywall, learn how to do drywall. The tools and materials for this are quite inexpensive. It just makes a BIG mess is all.

Might want to pick up a book on this, build a small practice wall in your backyard, drywall it... Then cut out a section, replace that section, tape and mud it, and see how it looks.

If you can do this, then you can run wires anywhere in your house! Just cut out sections of drywall, then patch when done. I do this and you would never know the wall was cut and patched.

If you have plaster and lath (old house), then a drywall patch will not match. Might need a pro to do that for you.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 12:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default


I have drywall and I know how to do it and have all of the materials but there is some type of wood behind my drywall..
mburgess44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 12:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Tell us specifically what kind of "wood" you're hitting.
Is it solid pine like there are continuous studs?
Or is it more like a layer of wood paneling behind the drywall?
How deep are you drilling?
You're probably just hitting the wood lath.
Research lath and plaster walls for a good diagram.

Last edited by Dairylander; 02-14-2010 at 12:55 PM.
Dairylander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 01:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 81
Default


agreed you are either hitting wood lathe or there could be plywood behind the sheetrock. I have run into this before on installs.
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:57 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default


I think it's plywood behind my sheetrock... ... didn't want to but I went through the floor.
mburgess44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:05 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default


In a previous home of mine - we added a second story room over the first floor room - so for that one wall in that room it was indeed all plywood behind the sheetrock since the sheetrock was laid ontop of the plywood wall that was once covered in siding as it was an outside wall. If that makes sense. Does not help but since you say there have been additions done - I bet that is what it is.
tbone2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 14 01-10-2015 09:08 AM
Can't find the wires! brianmarsh Home Theater 2 01-24-2010 07:11 AM
Confusing Chandelier Wires Burnsy Electrical 21 02-22-2009 03:29 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts