Temperature Controller - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-09-2014, 08:57 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 26

Temperature Controller

Good Day,
I'm looking to create a temperature control device as shown below. I saw this design on Ebay and have gathered the following material: 12V power supply, 70 CFM fan, Presto griddle probe and 8A toggle switch. One thing I do not have is a potentiometer – is this needed? Not sure how to wire this in the design? Original design notes that it gives the fan flexibility to match various power sources? I do IT for a living so wiring is not an issue for a geek like me. Circuitry diagrams/design are not my forte though and need help with this little project of mine.
Notes:
· The griddle temperature probe has 2 black (hot) wires going to what looks like to be a circuit. When the dial goes up in temperature the connector of the circuit tightens and loosens when the temperature goes down. When you go down in temperature the connector releases and eventually ceases to touch (OFF) breaking the circuit. Also has a green for a ground
· Fan I have has 3 wires : Red, White and Black
· PS is from an old speaker cable and is white and black
Goal:
The ultimate goal is to have the probe set to a particular temperature on the dial and if it drops– the fan will kick off and bring it back up again. When tested successfully– I will enclose in a weatherproof box and fasten it to my smoker.
Thanks and any additional information that is needed please feel free to PM me or ask. Your assistance is appreciated!
Pics are of the actual design shown on Ebay and the other is of the inside of the probe.
Attached Thumbnails
Temperature Controller-pid.jpg   Temperature Controller-pid2.jpg  
booboohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-09-2014, 09:40 AM   #2