Taking Fans Down, Exposed Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-10-2010, 10:56 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Taking Fans Down, Exposed Wires


I am taking 3 fans down. I will be replacing these, but will have exposed wires for a week or so. I can't turn the electricity off totally, because it runs other things in the rooms besidese the fans themselves. My questions is what should I put on the wires? Just put a cap on each wire themselves? Wrap in electrical tape?
ws450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-10-2010, 10:59 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Ceiling fans? Wire nut each wire individually (do not connect them together) and stuff them back into the ceiling. Are these kid's rooms? You can buy round blank cover plates for about a dollar each if you're worried they might be tempted to touch them.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-10-2010, 11:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Yes, ceiling fans. No kids, and the dog can't jump that high either, lol.
ws450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-10-2010, 11:21 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Then If it's just a week I'd cap them off and just leave 'em in the ceiling box.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:12 PM   #5
Coconut Pete's paella!
 
CoconutPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC / Denmark
Posts: 1,320
Rewards Points: 504
Default


Just cap'em. I yanked down an old flood light on my garage (or what was left of it) and had to make a parts run which ended up taking overnight. I just pulled the wires through so they were inside the garage and capped them there - no problems.
CoconutPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 14 01-10-2015 09:08 AM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Running new doorbell wires after ripped old ones out? pcampbell Electrical 3 12-14-2008 11:31 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts