Switching From Electric To Gas Cooktop - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-03-2019, 12:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 1,280
Default

Switching from electric to gas cooktop


Hello
I'm thinking to switch from electric (induction) cooktop to gas
I will hire a licensed plumber for the gas stubout
For the electric, I have a junction box where the current cooktop's cable goes into, and connection is done thru screw terminal
Can I convert that 220V box into a 110V outlet by:
-) remove the 30 or 40 double pole circuit breaker and install 1 x 15A single pole circuit breaker (and then leave 1 panel slot open)
2) Keep the current cable as it is (will have to cap off the red wire in the panel and in the box)
3) install a standard 110V / 15A outlet using the black cable?


Thanks
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2019, 01:00 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,464
Rewards Points: 228
Default

Re: Switching from electric to gas cooktop


Yes you can. Likely the existing cable is too big to fit in the breaker or receptacle
Pigtail a #14 to the larger wire.

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2019, 03:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Mystriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2,469
Rewards Points: 4,930
Default

Re: Switching from electric to gas cooktop


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
Hello
I'm thinking to switch from electric (induction) cooktop to gas
May I inquire why you're swapping from induction to gas? I've been waffling between the two since my glass top range is getting old, but I can't decide which I want to upgrade to.
__________________

(I'm not a professional, just a homeowner who dabbles in a bit of everything DIY)
Mystriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2019, 05:47 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,550
Rewards Points: 3,720
Default


Install a filler blank in the opening next to the single pole breaker.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts