Switched Receptacle Confusion - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-14-2010, 03:35 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switched receptacle confusion


Hello,
I have two receptacles controlled by a single switch. Both outlets on both receptacles are 'switch controlled' and no tabs are broken. All three boxes have a single wire with white/black/ground.

Is there any way to make one 1/2 receptacle (i.e. one of the outlets) 'always on'? I also don't understand how this could have been wired without any additional wires and pigtails?
leon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2010, 03:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 81
Default


Based off what you posted there is no way for you to be able to split the receptacle. Unless you were able to run a 3 wire to one receptacle. Also you stated that there is one cable i every box so I am assuming they are spliced in the switch box or they all go to a j-box. But you would need a three wire for this to work.
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2010, 04:04 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks for the quick reply. There are no splices I can see and if there is a junction box it's hidden somewhere or two floors below in the unfinished basement. It's a 1904 build that was rewired in the late 90s and it looks like they ran much of the 2nd floor wiring individually through the wall cavities from the basement rather than go horizontally and deal with working behind plaster and lath.
leon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2010, 09:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 81
Default


Like I said if they are individually run than you will need to find the J box. Because you need to find the feed going to the switch. It seems that it is wired weird. Most of the time when you have just one cable in the switch box than it is called a switch loop or switch leg meaning that the receptacles are being fed first.
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:53 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You have another hidden splice somewhere, if all 3 boxes have only a single cable in it.

You won't be able to make those outlets split-wired without adding another cable, or replacing it entirely with a 3-conductor + ground cable.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
swirched receptacle


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched receptacle wiring problem. sheshore Electrical 6 09-27-2009 01:37 PM
Receptacle Rating question Ultrarunner2017 Electrical 19 12-20-2008 06:20 PM
GFCI and Switched Receptacle cygnl7 Electrical 14 12-01-2008 07:14 AM
Rewiring a switched receptacle to recessed lights b-boy Electrical 4 03-03-2007 07:01 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 09:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts