Switch Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-05-2010, 10:26 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

switch wiring


Hi, In my kitchen i have 2 lights controlled by 1 switch. I want to add a 2nd switch in the same box to operate the lights separately. What info do you need to help me? Thanks Ed
forsale69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2010, 10:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


You probably just need to run 1 new wire from the switch electrical box to one of the lights you want to control and do a little rewiring at the fixtures.

Is there attic access to the two lights?

Can you run an additional wire down the wall to the switch electrical box?

(To the gurus and diagram drawers here... Basically run wire from new switch to one fixture, then rewire existing wire to that light to not be switched by the other switch and switched by the new switch is what I am thinking...)
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2010, 10:49 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Yes there is attic access and everything is in conduit so i can get from the switch to the fixture without to much trouble. Just want to wire it correctly. I work best with pictures if you or someone could draw me a picture. Thanks

http://www.electrical-online.com/ima...eceptacles.gif

This link shows what i think i have.

Last edited by forsale69; 01-05-2010 at 10:52 PM.
forsale69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2010, 09:08 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Can you get another wire (not green) from the switch through the conduit to light box #1 (on the left in your diagram)?

Remove just the red wire from the wire nut in light box #1 and connect it to the new wire you just strung.

Down in the switch box connect the new wire to switch #2. Take the white* wire off of the existing switch and wire nut two short lengths of wire to it. Now you can connect the other terminal of both switches.

* For individually strung wires in conduit, neither of just two wires entering a switch box may be white. You might take the opportunity now to replace the white wire with a colored wire (not green).

Sometimes it is easy to get a new wire down a conduit by attaching a string to one of the existing wires and pulling that wire out the other end. Then attach the new wire and pull both wires back through using the string.

For those eavesdropping, if you run a conduit or a cable directly from the switch box to light box #2 as a switch loop, two conductors are needed (switched hot and its own hot feed) and they are connected to switch #2 without pigtailing to switch #1. In other words do not make a switch loop as a triangle with hot feed (white in the diagram as linked) from box #1 and switched hot directly to box #2.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-06-2010 at 09:19 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:36 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default


You would disconnect the red wire at the second light and cap it in the box, then run a new black wire from that light to the new switch.
Attached Images
 
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:03 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Or run new red from switch to first light, disconnect red from blacks and connect reds togeather. Which ever runs is easiest
Attached Thumbnails
switch wiring-power-20in-20to-20lights-20one-20switch-20leg-20for-202-20lights-20power-20on-20to-20receptacl.jpg  
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:58 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


THANK YOU...THANK YOU...THANK YOU!!!!!!! The drawing was excellent...had it done in just about an hour. I owe you a drink!!!!

Last edited by forsale69; 01-06-2010 at 11:03 PM.
forsale69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring an Intermatic Wall Timer in a three way switch aitutaki98 Electrical 6 07-23-2011 11:43 AM
wiring in line light switch on power cord basicbrand Electrical 4 12-08-2009 09:36 AM
Wiring a single pole switch with a pilot light gabriel246 Electrical 5 10-31-2009 06:03 PM
Wiring of a contactor LC1D091o to a daynight switch kalulu Electrical 3 05-01-2009 02:09 PM
Ceiling Fixture / Switch Wiring gregger Electrical 1 10-21-2006 07:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts