Supply Cable To Panel - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-21-2010, 08:59 PM   #31
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by forresth View Post
you can go down in size for a ground, so even 12 gauge would be fine.
that is no longer a valid statement.


15 amp circuit requires at least a #14 cu

20 amp- #12
30 amp- #10
40 amp-#10
60 amp- #10
100 amp- #8
200 amp- #6

as well, if the current carrying conductor is increased in size (such as to counter voltage drop) the EGC must also be upsized a like amount.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2010, 06:06 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 85
Default


Well, finally put the last breaker in the panel. Thursday night, POCO didn't arive until 11:00 pm which meant I had to stay up all night to do the work. Slept an hour and then back to it. Never finished in time for inspection, but inspector offered to inspect service cable/ground connections in order to get power back to the house! Awesome guy! Since then I've been working at completing connections in the panel. All I need to do now is fasten the cables and label up the panel. Thanks for all of your help! I will post pics once complete.
Old College Try is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2010, 10:22 PM   #33
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


That cool and Merci for letting us know what going on and S'il vous plaît { Please } show us the photo here.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2010, 10:11 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Pictures of new panel


So I finally got around to snapping a couple of pics. Not a perfect job, but enough to get compliments from my inspector. No more supply cable sweeping in from the side at least. I'm satisfied. Thanks for all your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Supply Cable to Panel-new-panel.jpg   Supply Cable to Panel-new-panel-open.jpg  
Old College Try is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 11:25 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Looks good



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel supply cable and other issues.. Katzenjammer Electrical 9 02-19-2010 09:26 AM
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-06-2009 11:20 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
100A Fuse Panel Replacement Charlie1101 Electrical 4 07-25-2009 02:22 PM
Panel Placement In Outbuilding smitty286 Electrical 3 03-31-2008 12:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts