Subpanel For Bedrooms - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seminole County, FL
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

Subpanel for bedrooms


We're in the process of replacing a lot of old 1973-era aluminum wiring in my house and I had an idea I wanted to run by you guys. A house fire across the street caused by wiring problems has accelerated my plans on this project just a bit.

My house is a 2000-sqft 1-story ranch in an L-shape, where the 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms are on the opposite end of the house as the garage where the main panel is. Replacing all those home runs (one for each bedroom's outlets, one or two for each bathroom outlets+light+fan, one for the smoke alarms, one or two for other lighting/ceiling fans) back to the main panel is probably close to 100 feet each by the time I snake around the HVAC ducts and roof trusses.

Could I put a 75 or 100-amp "sub"panel in the side wall of the hallway where all the bedrooms are, run one length of proper gauge 4-wire cable to that, and tie the circuits from that end of the house into that panel? Anything unusual, against code, or fire hazardous about this? The only thing I may have to check on is the working space depth-wise, it's not the widest of hallways.

I'm just thinking the wire cost and time saved in dragging all that Romex back to the panel has got to be worth it, if this is possible and code-compliant. Plus I'll open up some extra breaker spaces in the main (Square-D QO, fairly recent) panel for the garage circuits I've been wanting to add. Any thoughts?
Xavier Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2010, 05:57 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,855
Rewards Points: 24,052
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Nothing wrong with that plan as far as code is concerned.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2010, 07:20 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


by the time you buy the number four, the panel, and the breakers it will cost much more to put in the new panel than it will to just run the romex back. You need about 7 cables? that should come out to about $300 if you buy it in bulk on a roll. Your probably looking at paying well over $200 for the length of number four wire and then another $400 or so for the panel and breakers. And you've still got to buy the copper to run from the new panel to the equipment.
If you do decide to run the new panel keep in mind that to comply with code the neutral and ground can't be bonded in a subpanel and your feed for the new panel with have to contain two hots, a white, and a ground to feed the sub panel.
A cheaper solution if your set on a new panel may be to install a 60A service instead of a 100A as this will be plenty to run the bedrooms and the bathrooms.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2010, 07:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


What size is your main panel ? 100a or 200a ?
I'd run a 60a feed to a 100a panel with main breaker
1 circuit for each bathroom & bedroom = 6 circuits
Plenty of power for that & wire is cheaper
Bedrooms under NEC 2008 require AFCI breakers - $35-40 each
So might only want 2 circuits for bedrooms ?

That will free up space in your main panel



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 09:16 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,171
Rewards Points: 986
Default


Don't forget to arcfault the bedrooms and smokes.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 02:23 PM
Grounding a Subpanel Craigman Electrical 25 12-07-2009 07:25 PM
Problems with Square D Subpanel bltglt507 Electrical 16 12-04-2009 08:44 PM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM
Reverse Polarity at the Subpanel adm060306 Electrical 14 07-09-2007 12:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts