Sub Panel For New Addition - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-07-2017, 12:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Sub panel for new addition


Hello everyone,

I just had a new addition done for the house. It is a three story addition attached directly to the left of the house. They had put in a grounding rod and a long green ground cable and stated that this was for the electrician. Well guess what.. thats me...

I want to hook up a sub panel for the new addition. Where does this green wire go to? Does it get wired to the main or the subpanel?

Thanks in advance
mleelun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2017, 12:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 410
Rewards Points: 637
Default

Re: Sub panel for new addition


You don't need a separate grounding system for the addition, so I assume it's for the main. But how does it already not have one? Is this an old building?
csab_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2017, 10:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Re: Sub panel for new addition


Not terribly old... built in 1977 i think...

the main already has a grounding system. so i dont know what to do with this other wire...
mleelun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2017, 08:19 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default

Re: Sub panel for new addition


If it is a new Ufer from the addition footings terminate it in the main panel.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 10:27 AM   #5
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 8,043
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Re: Sub panel for new addition


Kinda strange to have the builder/non-electrician install the ground rod and GEC wire.

Maybe it's some local convention on new build... maybe difficult ground driving the ground rod and the rod was put in at foundation time and the wire attached to locate it... and the foundation guys did not realize it wasn't required for an addition/subpanel.....????? ....just guessing.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
panel upgrade options for new HVAC installation buyabook Electrical 12 09-14-2015 10:39 PM
FPE Panel change out. Main Breaber to Lug TJ14u Electrical 4 01-22-2013 10:54 PM
Sub Panel over 10g-2 Help Needed hamblinh Electrical 30 01-18-2013 07:46 PM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts