Sub Panel Install - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-23-2010, 01:01 AM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by eagertolearn View Post
This post really helped. I got the sub panel installed today. I had to move a few breakers in the main 200a panel so i didnt have to much other stuff on the leg that i put the 100a sub panel on. Ran 2-2-4 from the main to the sub and used a 125 lug panel for the sub. Right now it has 2 220 circuits and 2 20 one with lights and the other with outlets. Its a 12 circuit panel so i can still add on, i anticipate needing at least 1 more 220 in the near future. Everything works.

The air compressor (on the main) didnt kick in while i was using the wielder or plasma cutter, but i dont think itll trip the main panel when it comes on. Only way it might is if were using both wielders and the plasma cutter at the same time when it flips on and i dont see a situation where wed be using all 3 at the same time in what is normally a 2 person shop.

I meant to take pictures before i put the panel on but forgot to take my camera to the farm today.

Thanks for the help, other then the first poster everyone was very helpful.

One final question, why do you have to hook up the neutral and grounds seperate on a subpanel?
In your situation they have allowed a 3 wire feeder to your shop panel using the exception in 250.32(B). Your shop panel is the service equipment meaning the disconnect that removes all power to the shop is located in that panel. Any panelboards (sub-panels) load side of that service equipment panel must have 4 wire feeders (H-H-N-Grd) The ground can be either a wire or metal conduit. At the sub-panel you separate neutral and ground because if you do not on a 4 wire feeder neutral current from the grounded legs (white wires)of your branch circuits will be able to use the equipment ground and the neutral of the feeder to return to the service equipment because you bonded them. You do not want neutral current on the equipment ground load side of the service equipment. Ground carries fault current only and is for human safety.

In your case it appears you ran only 3 wires to your sub panel which is a code violation. Unless you used metal conduit for the ground. So if you only ran 3 wires and no equipment ground temporarily you need to bond the neutral and ground so that fault current (if any) has a path back to the service equipment over the feeder neutral and then to the transformer over the service neutral. When you get the equipment ground ran (#8 copper) to the sub-panel then you must unbond the neutral and ground to keep neutral current off the ground. How you do this depends on your panel. Some require buying and installing ground bars and some it is just a simple means of removing a bonding jumper. Neutral and ground are only bonded at the service equipment in your case once you have the 4 wire feeder in place.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-23-2010 at 10:36 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2010, 05:25 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stubbie View Post
in your case it appears you ran only 3 wires to your sub panel which is a code violation. Unless you used metal conduit for the ground. So if you only ran 3 wires and no equipment ground temporarily you need to bond the neutral and ground so that fault current (if any) has a path back to the service equipment over the feeder neutral and then to the transformer over the service neutral. When you get the equipment ground ran (#8 copper) to the sub-panel then you must unbond the neutral and ground to keep neutral current off the ground. How you do this depends on your panel. Some require buying and installing ground bars and some it is just a simple means of removing a bonding jumper. Neutral and ground are only bonded at the service equipment in your case once you have the 4 wire feeder in place.
10 -4
eagertolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2010, 05:39 PM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Yep glad you came back. This drawing is how you want it to look. You may or may not have metal water pipes.


__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-06-2009 11:20 PM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-20-2009 11:09 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
New meter panel tomreva Electrical 3 01-08-2008 03:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts