Sub Panel Hook Up - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-07-2010, 09:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

sub panel hook up


I have a SD QO 200 amp main panel in my house and I want to put in a 100 amp SD QO sub panel right next to my main box . I have # 2 aluminum SE cable 3 conductor and # 4 copper ground wire. Can I run the ground wire to the grounding rod 3' away instead of trying to fit in the old panel?
dano2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2010, 09:59 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dano2 View Post
Can I run the ground wire to the grounding rod 3' away instead of trying to fit in the old panel?
NO you need to run SER cable to your sub panel, which has 2 hots a neutral and a ground in the same cable. You also need to seperate your grounds and neutrals in the sub panel. Which code are you under in your area? 2005? 2008? This needs. to be known to give you the wire size
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2010, 10:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


the code year is 2005, so I need a 4 conductor from the main panel to the sub panel and a grounding rod for the sub panel and no bonding screw
dano2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2010, 10:30 PM   #4
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dano2 View Post
the code year is 2005, so I need a 4 conductor from the main panel to the sub panel and a grounding rod for the sub panel and no bonding screw
Unless your local codes require the ground rod to the sub panel, the NEC does not require the sub-panel to be tied to the ground rod. The reason I asked about the 2005 or 2008 code is the 2008 requires SE or SER cable to be rated out of the 60 degree column which would cause the ampacity of the wire to be less. #2 alumn would be only good for 75A. instead of 90A.
Also correct on no bonding screw, grounds and neutrals have to be seperate in a sub panel.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 10:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


So aluminum SE cable is 2 hots and a bare neutral . SER cable is 2 hots, neutral, and a ground? Thanks for all the info its been 10 years since I did a panel.
dano2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 07:16 AM   #6
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Yep. and your welcome
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
240v sub panel hook up with no neutral ut74 Electrical 7 03-07-2008 07:30 PM
100 amp sub panel hook up? ponch37300 Electrical 24 11-30-2007 11:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts