Sub Panel Box Set Up Right? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-12-2009, 11:12 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Sub panel box set up right?


I asked a couple questions about a 60 amp sub panel in a detached garage before. This is the panel I want to use. The ground bar on the left is screwed right to the case. I removed the bonding screw from the neutral bar on the right. The neutral bar gets the #6 neutral wire. The ground bar gets the #10 going all the way back to the neutral/ground bar in the main panel.

My two ground rods go where, do they both go to the ground bar or one goes to the neutral and the other goes to the ground?
The knock outs are also all out on the front of this panel and I don't need enough breakers to fill it. Is their a filler that can be used there similar to knock out plugs or can it just be filled with breakers that are not connected to anything? I'm really curious about this since my main service panel has the same issue since I bought the house and would like to get those holes filled in as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Sub panel box set up right?-box.jpg  
Tmb9862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2009, 11:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


The ground rods connect to the ground bar - not the neutral bar.

You should be able to get filler covers for the front of the panel.

Last edited by vsheetz; 12-12-2009 at 11:27 AM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2009, 11:28 AM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


ground rods attach to the ground bar only

you can fill in the open spaces in the cover with either breakers that are not being used or there are filler blanks made of plastic that fit into the open spaces.

Lowes sells some of the filler blanks. Not sure about the other big box stores but probably. If not there, a wholesale house that deals in the brand of panel that is.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2009, 09:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 81
Default


Everything sounds ok

Last edited by Chevyman30571; 12-16-2009 at 09:55 PM.
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 08:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 81
Default


Actually i take back my previous reply. For a sub panel fed off of a main panel you do not need to use ground rods. The only grounding that you need is at the main load center. You will have grounds going to the water meter and also to a ground rod. For a sub panel you do not need ground rods. All grouning is done at the main panel. This also the reason why in a sub panel the neutrals and grounds are separated.
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 08:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevyman30571 View Post
Actually i take back my previous reply. For a sub panel fed off of a main panel you do not need to use ground rods. The only grounding that you need is at the main load center. You will have grounds going to the water meter and also to a ground rod. For a sub panel you do not need ground rods. All grouning is done at the main panel. This also the reason why in a sub panel the neutrals and grounds are separated.
False..............Ground rods ARE required in a detached building



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 08:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Yes, ground rods or a ufer are required in a detached building - creating reduntant grounds for safety. Neutrals in the subpanel do not connect to ground in the subpanel because there should only be one return current path.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 08:56 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Arrow


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
ground rods attach to the ground bar only

you can fill in the open spaces in the cover with either breakers that are not being used or there are filler blanks made of plastic that fit into the open spaces.

Lowes sells some of the filler blanks. Not sure about the other big box stores but probably. If not there, a wholesale house that deals in the brand of panel that is.
Those KO seals are brand specific! They have to fit the slot of the breaker. So a Square D wouldn't fit on a GE compatible!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:08 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Those KO seals are brand specific! They have to fit the slot of the breaker. So a Square D wouldn't fit on a GE compatible!
Uh, ya think that might be why I included this:


Quote:
If not there, a wholesale house that deals in the brand of panel that is.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Red face


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Uh, ya think that might be why I included this:
Yeah, You're right But sometimes, when I add something it's not to contradict you. Just to enhance what you were saying.
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:39 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Something I did not know about the KO's
I'm hoping to not need any
But my old 200a Main is now my 100a sub.....and a lot of the KO's are already knocked out



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:55 PM   #12
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Yeah, You're right But sometimes, when I add something it's not to contradict you. Just to enhance what you were saying.
that's cool and I was not extremely clear in my post.

Dave, do you mean the knock outs in the panel face or knock outs where you had cables coming in that are no longer used?

the breaker fillers are manufacturer specific. There are KO seals for whatever size or round KO you need to plug as well. They look like this but you get what ever diameter you need.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:58 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


The KO's in the panel face
Its a 40 circuit panel & I think the bottom 8 are still there
I think I will be installing 32 circuits tho
12 of those will be Christmas circuits

So hopefully will not need any



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 10:17 PM   #14
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


if all else fails, duct tape!!
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts