Stupid Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-25-2010, 08:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Bigmike33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stupid question


Am I able to add 2 recessed lights from the middle of the lighting run or do I need to pick up the new lights from the last light on the run? I'm pretty sure I know the answer but need confirmation.
For example there are 4 existing lights lets say the 4th light is on the end of the run. Can I tap off the 2nd light and run 2 more lights or do I have to pick it up off the 4th one (the end)
Thanks guys, I promise most of my questions arent this bad.
Bigmike33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2010, 08:48 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Are the existing lights on a switch circuit? If so, are all four lights controlled by the same switch?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2010, 09:25 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Bigmike33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Yes all 4 lights are on the same switch and I am trying to add 2 more
Bigmike33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2010, 10:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 85
Default


You should be able to tap in on any light if they'll all be on the same switch. Just be sure to use the same wire size (or at least not smaller) as used on the existing lights.
Old College Try is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 10:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Bigmike33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Good deal . I appreciate it. I did in fact use the same size wire than the existing.
Bigmike33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
stupid question about a brad nailer? cyclonic Carpentry 17 08-23-2008 06:55 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM
Water won't drain down in lawn. Help! kbrena Landscaping & Lawn Care 17 07-16-2008 11:43 PM
maybe stupid question: marker for concrete amakarevic Building & Construction 2 06-30-2008 04:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts