Steam Shower 30 Amp Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-02-2009, 05:14 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Steam shower 30 amp circuit


I'm about to install a steam shower which calls for a 30 amp GFCI breaker.
Items to be installed are a single pole Federal Pioneer 30 amp GFCI breaker and 10g wire.
My predicament is that the electronics module that came with the shower package has a plug-in made for a duplex receptacle. Anyone have an idea how I can rig this up to work without frying my home?
Northside Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2009, 08:41 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Is the electronics module separate from the steam generator unit? Does it have a separate cord and plug attached?

Sounds like your unit may need more than one circuit to perform properly?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2009, 08:43 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


...is this a possible solution? Permanently remove the plug-in cord and hardwire the 10g wire in it's place. Therefore a direct wire to the 30Amp GFCI breaker.
Northside Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2009, 08:47 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Is the electronics module separate from the steam generator unit? Does it have a separate cord and plug attached?

Sounds like your unit may need more than one circuit to perform properly?
Hi, the steam generator box actually has an s-video style cable along with a thicker shielded cord which connects to the mainbrain of the shower. The only component on this particular shower that connects to a external 30 amp current is the mainbrain.

Last edited by Northside Taco; 12-02-2009 at 08:58 PM.
Northside Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 09:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs down


Quote:
Originally Posted by Northside Taco View Post
...is this a possible solution? Permanently remove the plug-in cord and hardwire the 10g wire in it's place. Therefore a direct wire to the 30Amp GFCI breaker.
NOOOOOO!!!! Are you kidding. A Duplex receptacle is rated for either 15 or 20 Amps. When you hook it up directly to a 30Amp. circuit you won't have any protection!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 09:26 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
NOOOOOO!!!! Are you kidding. A Duplex receptacle is rated for either 15 or 20 Amps. When you hook it up directly to a 30Amp. circuit you won't have any protection!!!
That's what I gather...is there an actual option?
Northside Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 09:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Lightbulb


Quote:
Originally Posted by Northside Taco View Post
That's what I gather...is there an actual option?
Without reading the actual specifics in the manual it's next to impossible. But assuming (which is risky in itself) that the control module runs on a different voltage. Either run a dedicated circuit or use a general 120v. receptacle to the module. But again. You must read the specs. (describing the voltage/s and amperage or wattage) about all the parts of the steam generator and control module before proceeding. (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 09:47 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Specs listed as
Voltage 110V-120V
Frequency 60 Hz
Power 30W
Control circuit voltage 12V

That's about all I could find.
Northside Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 09:56 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up


Quote:
Originally Posted by Northside Taco View Post
Specs listed as
Voltage 110V-120V
Frequency 60 Hz
Power 30W
Control circuit voltage 12V

That's about all I could find.
That's for the Control panel. You (probably) have a Transformer inside the control module. My personal advice would be for you to have the entire system set up professionally by a person who does this for a living! Good Luck!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:04 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Yes there is a transformer inside the module.
But, in the best interest of having this done in a safe manner I'll take your advice and have it done by a pro.
Thanks
Northside Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the Correct thinset for Steam Shower? Ed1234 General DIY Discussions 1 11-10-2009 09:34 PM
Replacing a circuit breaker tertius Electrical 9 09-24-2009 08:17 PM
Steam Shower Permit jabrams General DIY Discussions 1 08-05-2009 02:15 PM
Shower Pan Liner Problem Hottrod33 Plumbing 9 02-02-2009 01:02 PM
Electrical Box near Shower Valve dasajame Electrical 3 07-07-2008 06:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts