Stairway Lighting - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-25-2009, 07:13 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Stairway lighting


I am redoing an old house for my daughter. The only lighting in the stairwell leading upstairs is a single light at the top with a pull chain. Is there any way to install anything like motion sensors at the top and bottom and have them control a switch unit hooked into the light. I really don't want to try fishing all the wire needed for a 3-way switch.
rfillha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2009, 07:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Install a fixture with a motion sensor built in.


Home Depot or Lowes.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2009, 07:58 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


http://www.techchee.com/2009/02/21/s...-bulb-adapter/ Google (motion control for screw in light bulbs) Lots of different products.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2009, 09:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Yes, they are light switches, that will sense when a person passes by & turns on, then after a set time frame, turn off. Personally, if it was me, I would place LED lighting along the treads running along the wall to light the way, plus a light in the middle of the stairwell that will illuminate it better then a single bulb fixture.

Also, you will need to fish 14/3 or 12/3 in order to place a switch @ the bottom & top of the stairs, which is pretty much required by code in most cities now days.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 09:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Heres a couple of ideas for you:

http://www.smarthome.com/2531W/Wirel...-6696-W/p.aspx

http://www.adhocelectronics.com/Cust...itch-Kit-White
unclduey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 09:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


The problem is, if the unit goes tits up, then you have to buy a whole new unit @ the same or higher cost later down the road. Easier to use good old fashioned Copper wiring & two 3-way switches



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 10:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Use low voltage lighting, either incand. or LEDs.
You have much more freedom in the layout that way, and you might be able to use #30 AWG, which is so thin it is almost invisible. A bead of caulk will hide it.
A 1w LED = a 4w or 5w incand.
http://www.makingthings.com/teleo/te...ight/index.htm

Last edited by Yoyizit; 06-25-2009 at 10:27 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:22 PM   #8
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by unclduey View Post
He only has a pull chain now though. I do believe that most of those solutions require one hardwired switch for the receiver unit.

X-10 makes a product called the "Socket Rocket" which can be controlled by any X-10 controller. It screws into the bulb socket, and the bulb then screws into it. They make a nice looking wireless switch as well, called "Slimline Switch Decorator White".

They also have motion sensors and other such things.

I refuse to link to their site because the "design" of the site makes me want to vomit in rage (that is my professional opinion, BTW). Google "X-10" and you'll see what I mean. Their products are also not super great, but they do work.

I have a few lights using lamp modules and the decorator slimline switch at home. The worst case is that I sometimes have to hit the on or off button twice to get the light to turn on and off.

They do have the benefit of being CHEAP, however.

All told, you'll be happier with yourself if you hard wire the thing.
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linking the 5amp lighting live to the 13amp neutral causes tripping of the rcb. Why? StevieV Electrical 8 08-24-2008 09:42 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio (cross-posted in electrical) 1655graff Remodeling 1 11-21-2007 12:45 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio 1655graff Electrical 5 11-21-2007 08:06 AM
Stairway loose asegal General DIY Discussions 4 12-02-2006 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts