Square D QO - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-29-2010, 06:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Square D QO


We have a QO Panel with a 150 amp main breaker (QON 20-30 MG 150 Series L4) and we need to replace it with a 100 amp breaker. Don't know part #, where could I find one?
martismi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2010, 06:44 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


if they make one, at a square D distributor.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2010, 06:45 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


A supply house that deals with SQ D equipment.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2010, 07:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Why are you downgrading ?
Might be cheaper to buy a whole new 100a panel



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 07:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks, do you know of any distributors near SE Michigan?
martismi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 07:03 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,054
Rewards Points: 510
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default


May be cost effective to get a QO2100 and a hold down kit and back feed that.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:37 PM   #7
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


I'm assuming it has to be downgraded because the feeder is underrated? IF yes I'd look into the cost of upgrading the feeder to 200 amp, then leave the panel as is. Might be cheaper that way.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 09:27 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by martismi View Post
Thanks, do you know of any distributors near SE Michigan?

http://www.schneider-electric.us/sup...butor-locator/

plug in a zip code and away you go.



as another stated, it might be cheaper to plug a 2 pole 100 amp breaker into the thing (where the branch circuit breakers go) and get a hold down kit (required by code for a service disconnect).
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duct square to round to square flow question unixb0y HVAC 2 08-26-2009 05:12 PM
Square recessed lighting? ggabbitas Electrical 5 03-27-2009 07:40 AM
Powered Attic Fan question spup345 Roofing/Siding 9 06-30-2008 08:10 PM
roof venting via the soffit darren Roofing/Siding 8 04-13-2008 09:29 PM
Cost per square foot -- very small addition rubeng Building & Construction 7 12-13-2007 12:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts