Splitting 220v Power To VFDs In Wood Shop? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-15-2011, 02:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Splitting 220v power to VFDs in wood shop?


I've got two machines in one corner of my shop that require VFDs to convert from 1ph to 3ph power. I have one line of 220v running in 25ft of flex conduit to that corner on a 20amp breaker. One VFD calls for 20amps, the other calls for a 10amp breaker. The VFDs will both be on simultaneously, but the machines will never run simultaneously. I know VFDs are sensitive to feedback and interferences on the lines so i'm looking for a practical solution.

I'm trying to figure out what would be the best way to get power to both machines. Do I use the one line and split it somehow in a junction box? If so, can you explain what i need to split it? Also, once i get it split i guess i would need a fused disconnect or something to get the 10amp protection for the one VFD?

Or, would I be better off running a new line of 220v flex to the corner on a 10amp breaker from the box?

thanks for the help,
A.
Athanasius is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2011, 03:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Personally I would run separate circuits to each vfd but there is nothing saying you can't use the same feeder. You could splice the feed in a box and stub out to both vfds.
Colomboj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2011, 05:15 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,354
Rewards Points: 3,608
Default


VFD manufacturers generally insist that each VFD be on its own circuit. At the same time, many industrial equipment manufacturers run tons of VFDs in parallel on large circuit breakers, especially for fractional-horsepower applications. I don't think it makes much difference.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power to "half" the house dogvila Electrical 8 07-13-2010 09:04 PM
Add more power to the house? (kinda long) tmtrebor Electrical 5 04-30-2010 03:19 PM
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM
Power for shop from meter/main TIRDOLDMECH Electrical 10 01-17-2010 02:25 PM
Shop Power & Lighting schoondogg Electrical 1 10-09-2005 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts