Splicing 14-2 To 6-3 For 120v Load - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-09-2010, 01:10 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Splicing 14-2 to 6-3 for 120v load

I'm trying to finish what a previous electrician started at a friends house. I have plenty of electrical experience but I'm hesitant to go on what the other electrician left for instruction on how to finish. I am wiring an outdoor plug for a small pond pump. What the guy did was run 14 gauge wire from the outdoor plug to a j box under the deck where he spliced it to 6 gauge wire (The black) that was already there (For a future hot tub that the owners will never get).

The 6 gauge is outside the panel now and he said to just use the black and hook it up to a 15amp breaker.

What I'm wondering is if any 15 amp breaker will hold a 6 gauge wire? Should I put another junction box near the panel and spice 14-2 to it and then run that to the panel (Making 14-2 splices on both ends)? Is any of this above the board? I've never ran into this before and I'm hesitant to go off his words because he did such a shoddy job waterproofing the boxes (I opened them up and they were 1/3 filled with water, which I now have to dry and fix right). Thank god he didn't power the circuit or the house would have burned down. It's extremely difficult right now to run a new 14-2 from the deck jbox to the panel.

Thanks.

Last edited by beatle; 06-09-2010 at 01:12 PM.
beatle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-09-2010, 04:50 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,800

You can run the #6 cable directly into the panel and splice on a #14 pigtail there to connect to the (15 amp.) breaker.

By "black only" you must also use the white wire in the #6 cable for the neutral.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-09-2010 at 04:52 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote