Splicing 14-2 To 6-3 For 120v Load - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-09-2010, 01:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Splicing 14-2 to 6-3 for 120v load


I'm trying to finish what a previous electrician started at a friends house. I have plenty of electrical experience but I'm hesitant to go on what the other electrician left for instruction on how to finish. I am wiring an outdoor plug for a small pond pump. What the guy did was run 14 gauge wire from the outdoor plug to a j box under the deck where he spliced it to 6 gauge wire (The black) that was already there (For a future hot tub that the owners will never get).

The 6 gauge is outside the panel now and he said to just use the black and hook it up to a 15amp breaker.

What I'm wondering is if any 15 amp breaker will hold a 6 gauge wire? Should I put another junction box near the panel and spice 14-2 to it and then run that to the panel (Making 14-2 splices on both ends)? Is any of this above the board? I've never ran into this before and I'm hesitant to go off his words because he did such a shoddy job waterproofing the boxes (I opened them up and they were 1/3 filled with water, which I now have to dry and fix right). Thank god he didn't power the circuit or the house would have burned down. It's extremely difficult right now to run a new 14-2 from the deck jbox to the panel.

Thanks.

Last edited by beatle; 06-09-2010 at 01:12 PM.
beatle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2010, 04:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


You can run the #6 cable directly into the panel and splice on a #14 pigtail there to connect to the (15 amp.) breaker.

By "black only" you must also use the white wire in the #6 cable for the neutral.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-09-2010 at 04:52 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


There is no problem connecting #6 to a 15-amp breaker you can splice a piece of #14 to the end so it will fit on the breaker. What bothers me is you say you have boxes under the deck and they have been filling with water? Is this a pool deck? If it is and this wiring is within 10 feet of the pool it needs to be GFCI protected and if your boxes are filling with water you will never be able to keep the gfci from tripping. If you are not sure I strongly recommend you hire a licensed electrician to at least check out what you have to be sure it is safe. It will be well worth paying him for the service call.
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2010, 05:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks for the reply's. I'll splice a #14 in the panel. By black I mean he never used the red for power. I'll connect the ground and neutral in the panel. The plug in the yard is gfci protected. It's just that he didn't put the plug in the yard on right and it lets water in (It's on a post by the pond but the underground portion of the run form the pond plug to the jbox by the house is to code).

As for the junction box under the deck (It's attached to the side of the house), he didn't seal it properly and it was full of water. I have to fix these first.
beatle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:15 PM   #5
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


GFCI protected at the plug is no good if this assembly is next to a pool it must be GFCI protected prior to that location, as in a GFCI breaker in the panel. If it is not by a pool then you may be ok! A picture would be nice!
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 06:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


If you use a junction box next to the panel for the splices instead of run the #6 cable into the panel, do not cut the cable. The next homeowner might want to reconfigure the #6 cable as a high current (up to 60 ampere) circuit and run the cable all the way into the panel.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:29 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


It's not directly by the pond (It's not a swimming pool) and it's in the grey area where you don't have to have a GFCI breaker according to it's location but it might be a good idea. Extra safety for electrical is never a bad idea and they aren't that much money. Unfortunately I can't have pictures until Sunday as I won't be returning to the house until then.

And I will leave the bulk of the #6 for the next homeowner to do with what they wish. Thanks for the suggestion.
beatle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
creating door in possible load bearing wall acerunner Building & Construction 6 07-05-2010 04:33 PM
Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous [email protected]@ Electrical 9 03-06-2010 11:49 AM
framing, expanding wall opening wall - load bearing? nave Remodeling 5 01-23-2008 03:44 PM
% total roof load on interior bearing wall? Grommet Building & Construction 1 03-29-2007 07:37 AM
moving another load bearing nailfun Carpentry 2 02-20-2007 08:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts