Spindle Frequency? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-17-2019, 07:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Spindle Frequency?


I bought and installed a new 1.5kw water-cooled spindle with an inverter to run it. Inverter is https://www.valinonline.com/products/esv152n02txb . Now whenever I switch the spindle on, it triggers my limit switches (in Mach3) and I can only reset it when the spindle is not running. Would adding a line reactor to the inverter help? Spindle and limit switch wiring is all shielded and properly grounded.

I'm virtually at a standstill. Any help?
brandonmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2019, 08:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,110
Rewards Points: 310
Default

Re: Spindle Frequency?


How does a drive trip or actuate a limit switch?
Or are you starting it up with a command in place.
Limit switches are physical auxiliary devices and need motion to actuate them.
Your question does not make any sense to me.
__________________
If it worked before you worked on it. You did something wrong.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2019, 11:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 656
Rewards Points: 1,314
Default

Re: Spindle Frequency?


Check Page 35 in your manual for code P166 Carrier Frequency. Try changing the carrier frequency to different values above and below the current setting.

Assuming your limit switches are standard micro switches, it's not likely that you're actually tripping the switches, but the inputs that the switches are connected to. (Are you using normally-open contacts?). The carrier frequency of the drive can cause noise that interferes with other electronics. That's why it is adjustable.
BrownEyedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2019, 12:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,110
Rewards Points: 310
Default

Re: Spindle Frequency?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownEyedGuy View Post
Check Page 35 in your manual for code P166 Carrier Frequency. Try changing the carrier frequency to different values above and below the current setting.

Assuming your limit switches are standard micro switches, it's not likely that you're actually tripping the switches, but the inputs that the switches are connected to. (Are you using normally-open contacts?). The carrier frequency of the drive can cause noise that interferes with other electronics. That's why it is adjustable.
The carrier frequency is not going to affect any inputs or outputs.
Limit switches are not electronics and are only mechanical devices.
The carrier frequency is adjustable as to prevent motor noise and motor heating.
It has nothing to with I/O.
__________________
If it worked before you worked on it. You did something wrong.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 12:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 656
Rewards Points: 1,314
Default

Re: Spindle Frequency?


Hmmm, I wonder what those limit switches are connected to?
BrownEyedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 02:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north central pa
Posts: 589
Rewards Points: 1,005
Default

Re: Spindle Frequency?


what model cnc do you have? need to ts to determine if it is actually actuating an input. can you find and bring up an I/O page to watch the inputs? if not, you may be able to follow the limit sw wiring to the controller, and see a respective led change state with the input. you can do that by moving the switch by hand and watching the board.


are you sure they are not the soft (programmed) limits being triggered?


recheck all of your wiring!
TimPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 08:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,110
Rewards Points: 310
Default

Re: Spindle Frequency?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownEyedGuy View Post
Hmmm, I wonder what those limit switches are connected to?
PLC most likley
__________________
If it worked before you worked on it. You did something wrong.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Andersen Spindle Pulls Out latenight Windows and Doors 2 11-13-2014 07:59 PM
tap spindle over rotates? skar Plumbing 0 04-08-2012 12:16 PM
Spinning spindle on my washing machine jwo Appliances 5 09-15-2011 05:14 PM
Doorknob attachment to spindle c2gene General DIY Discussions 6 10-26-2008 06:04 AM
What makes a quiet window? Badfish740 Building & Construction 8 09-30-2007 11:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts