Special Outlet Needed For Treadmill? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-11-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Special outlet needed for treadmill?


I have been using the treadmill in the 110v outlet in our home. But I do notice fluctuations in the lighting when I start running.

I am wondering if folks who own treadmills install a dedicated power supply for it?
shuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-11-2010, 03:13 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


a motor, when starting or loading, will draw a lot of current compared to a unloaded running current. Every time you take a stride and as your weight hits the belt, it will load the motor.

(BTW: don't take that as a comment about your weight. It happens with everybody)

I would check the current draw on the machine. It might benefit you to have a dedicated circuit BUT

there are a few things that even a dedicated circuit isn't going to change the could be causing the problem as well.

If you can find a circuit with absolutely nothing else on it (it can have 100 receps as long as nothing else is actually using the circuit), plug it into there and try it.

are you using an extension cord? If so, lose it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-11-2010, 03:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by shuss View Post
But I do notice fluctuations in the lighting when I start running.
Bad neutral at or upstream of your panel.
Can be easily tested.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-11-2010, 04:25 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by shuss View Post
I am wondering if folks who own treadmills install a dedicated power supply for it?
Most treadmills are a huge power draw and the manufacturer will almost certainly recommend or require a dedicated circuit. I have seen many with 20A cord plugs.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 06:00 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Bad neutral at or upstream of your panel.
Can be easily tested.


please explain how it is easily tested.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 06:30 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
please explain how it is easily tested.
Something about a 1.21 gigawatt resistor.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 06:36 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Something about a 1.21 gigawatt resistor.
kind of what I am expecting.

while I appreciate yoyo's efforts and even sometimes his methods, he is always whipping out some unique testing method that is a bit , um, different than any method I have ever used or seen.

On top of that, tossing such things on a lot of DIY'ers, I suspect, just confuses the Hell out of 'em.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (07-12-2010)
Old 07-11-2010, 08:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

should i be worried if i dont use a dedicated circuit?


You are right. The lamp dims everytime i take a stride. I am not that heavy either if i continue to use that outlet, would i be hurting the wiring or the treadmill in amy way?

It seems like the cost of having a dedicated outlet for the treadmill is almost the same as buying a new treadmill. any thoughts?
shuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 08:28 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
please explain how it is easily tested.
Turn on an appliance that draws heavy current at 120v, like this treadmill. If the voltage on the other side of the neutral goes up at all, it's a bad neutral connection.

If the light problem is only on the treadmill branch circuit it could be a bad connection, e.g., an improperly installed or failing wirenut.

This
http://www.google.com/products/catal...wAg#ps-sellers
does the same kind of tests but it doesn't need huge resistors because it uses pulse testing.

If I had that humongous resistor I'd put it across my 240 v line and get myself on the evening news.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-11-2010 at 08:44 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 09:24 PM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post

If I had that humongous resistor I'd put it across my 240 v line and get myself on the evening news.

I understand the human body is quite a resistor
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 09:28 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by shuss View Post

It seems like the cost of having a dedicated outlet for the treadmill is almost the same as buying a new treadmill. any thoughts?


is the circuit you are using the same circuit the lights are on?

if they are, find circuit with nothing on it, plug it in and run. With the same lights on as before, do they dim?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 09:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I understand the human body is quite a resistor
Yeah, "Old Sparky" puts 2400 VAC across unfortunate people and 4 A to 8 A flows. For a while.

How many of these dudes wired in parallel would it take to bring down PoCo?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-11-2010 at 10:10 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 11:17 PM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I have see Americian thread mill most of them will ask for delcated circuit dut the current drawage it can peak out 15 amp pretty easy this is true if you are running near wide open speed.

Most of European verison is not a major issue due they are on 240 volts but still.,, the same as Americian verison they want it on delcated circuit for best performace.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 05:20 PM
drywall repair next to an outlet - advice needed... myke232 Drywall & Plaster 2 08-19-2009 01:25 PM
Outlet wiring dilemma Mac McCloskey Electrical 8 08-17-2009 07:38 PM
washer/dryer frying my outlet dontwannadiy Electrical 15 07-28-2009 12:52 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts