Some Help With Motion Floodlight, Please... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-26-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Western Masschusetts
Posts: 575
Rewards Points: 500
Default

some help with motion floodlight, please...


Hi,

I'm trying to replace a standard floodlight with a motion floodlight.

I bought one, installed it, followed the directions to set it to "test," etc...
The lights powered on initially as they should, but then I couldn't get the sensor to trip the lights at all under test. It was daylight out so I couldn't test the normal mode, either.

So, thinking it was a defective product, I returned it and bought a much more expensive model with some "super duper" doppler radar sensor.

Installed this the same way - blacks, whites, and grounds wire nutted together. Put in the bulbs, set the device to "test," and turned on the power at the switch. It said to wait 90 seconds and that it was normal for the lights NOT to come during warmup.

Either before or after the 90 seconds I realized I had the sensor upside down so I went up and swiveled around to the correct position. When I turned it a certain way, the lights snapped on and off in just a split second once or twice.

Again, I tried turning power off, turning knob back to "set," waiting 2 minutes, then walking in front of it, waving my hands, etc.. NOTHING.
Lights aren't even powering on at all. I took it all apart, rechecked my wiring, totally normal and standard.

Did I fry the sensor or something?

I didn't realize these things were so fragile and difficult.

What am I missing here?

Big thanks.
wombosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 08:34 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default


It's very simple to install. White wires splice together. The red wire from the sensor splices to the black wires from the lights. The black wire on the sensor splices with the black wire from the feed/power
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 09:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Western Masschusetts
Posts: 575
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
It's very simple to install. White wires splice together. The red wire from the sensor splices to the black wires from the lights. The black wire on the sensor splices with the black wire from the feed/power
yes. i didn't have any trouble with the wiring. just that i can't actually get the lights to come on.

everything is factory wired together. all i had to do was connect black to black and white to white.

she no work.
wombosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2009, 08:04 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,698
Rewards Points: 3,002
Default


Is there a screwdriver adjustment (or a knob) for sensitivity?
__________________
Stop some of your bank autopayments so you can set priorities for manual monthly payments out of your coronavirus stimulus check.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Western Masschusetts
Posts: 575
Rewards Points: 500
Default


well, they call is a sensitivity knob, but it just adjusts the time that the light stays on.

thanks.
wombosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 01:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Western Masschusetts
Posts: 575
Rewards Points: 500
Default


hi guys.
there seems to be some goofy circuitry issues going on. the light i was trying to hook up is on the same circuit with the existing flood.
wound up putting the old fixture (non motion) back in for the customer.
this light only turns on when the first flood comes on, and goes off with it.

strange.

i give up, though.

thanks for the help.
wombosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 09:09 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 322
Default


I just went thru a similar exercise except my light would not turn on at all. It turned out that behind the glass lens, the bulb was still inside the packaging. Your case is different, but did you make sure the bulb is seated well?
tns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 09:11 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Western Masschusetts
Posts: 575
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by tns1 View Post
I just went thru a similar exercise except my light would not turn on at all. It turned out that behind the glass lens, the bulb was still inside the packaging. Your case is different, but did you make sure the bulb is seated well?
yes.

in the end i think the original motion light is set up to trigger the other one i was trying to mess with.
having them both on the same circuit apparently is not good, either.

i gave up with the motion light and put the original fixture back up (which only turns on when the motion light is tripped).

thanks.
wombosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
Motion switch wired to two circuits Sibkuz Electrical 2 04-22-2009 07:31 PM
3-way motion sensor genner Electrical 9 03-11-2009 06:25 PM
Motion flood "non-standard" wiring Fishin_Man Electrical 5 01-14-2009 03:20 PM
Problem with motion sensor switch & light usseabeemom Electrical 5 11-17-2008 05:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts