Is This A Snap-In Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-08-2015, 02:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 1,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

Is This A Snap-In Breaker?


Pic is of 100A Main Breaker, Mobile Home. Label on Cover panel: HOMC24UC / Square D

No emergency (still working), but may need to find one of these in the not-too-distant future. Home has a 15kw electric furnace that is currently burning out the 100A breaker at the meter outside. Park maintenance on the way as I enter this post. Outside breaker still on for the moment, but will be off again by sundown, no doubt, if that long.

Wondering if pics are enough for anyone to tell me what info I need to give when ordering one of these. Maybe the HOMC24UC Square D is enough? Our local electrical supplier just shut down (out of business) I just learned.

After I remove the two Hot legs from those lugs (terminals?), will this breaker just pop out?
justplumducky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2015, 02:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Pics did not load.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2015, 02:37 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,151
Rewards Points: 31,614
Blog Entries: 11
Default


HOMC24UC is the number for the cover.
Main breakers normally screw or bolt in.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2015, 02:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,855
Rewards Points: 1,606
Default


duplicate of JOED's post

Last edited by Oso954; 01-08-2015 at 02:39 PM. Reason: deleting comment
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 02:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default


To get by, I would turn off the 5 kw heater breaker to the furnace to drop load. Less heat is better than no heat. Then talk upgrade.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
justplumducky (01-09-2015)
Old 01-08-2015, 03:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 1,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default


My apologies - got interrrupted with a phone call - just got off the phone. Here's the pics:

And when I grab the breaker to move it up and down just a little to see if I can tell how it's connected, the lugs (where the red & black hot legs connect), move along with the body of the breaker when I move it just a bit. Don't know if that conclusive evidence of course, but maybe?

Last edited by justplumducky; 05-04-2016 at 09:46 PM.
justplumducky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 03:38 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


You have some code violations that are a bigger concern. Double lugging and no bond screw for starters...
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 04:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,855
Rewards Points: 1,606
Default


Quote:
and no bond screw for starters...
Shouldn't this mobile home panel be a sub panel to the meter panel with breaker ? No bond screw, with grounds and neutrals separated ?
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 04:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Shouldn't this mobile home panel be a sub panel to the meter panel with breaker ? No bond screw, with grounds and neutrals separated ?


You are correct, mobile homes need to be 4 wire. I missed that part in the first post, thought it was a home panel.

In that case a separate ground bar is needed with the grounds moved over.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jump-start For This Useful Post:
Oso954 (01-08-2015)
Old 01-09-2015, 03:15 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 1,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
You have some code violations that are a bigger concern. Double lugging and no bond screw for starters...
Thanks for you help and I'll let 'em know about the code violations, but at the moment, the breaker is the only concern. Anybody have an idea about how it removes?
justplumducky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 03:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,855
Rewards Points: 1,606
Default


Quote:
I'll let 'em know about the code violations,
Who is them ?
If you are not the owner of the panel, you should not be in it.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 03:39 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 1,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Who is them ?
If you are not the owner of the panel, you should not be in it.
Lol, Have good weekend!
justplumducky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 03:44 PM   #13
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greenfield Maine
Posts: 9,462
Rewards Points: 1,034
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by justplumducky View Post
Thanks for you help and I'll let 'em know about the code violations, but at the moment, the breaker is the only concern. Anybody have an idea about how it removes?
Ayuh,.... It Don't,.... It's the Main, in that box,....

If it comes out at all, it's alota unboltin' everything around it,...
It acts as part of the main panel,...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bondo For This Useful Post:
justplumducky (01-09-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Breaker installed- Main Breaker trips novy31 Electrical 14 10-30-2013 08:08 AM
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 10:28 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts