Smoke Detector - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By darren
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-04-2019, 06:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 1,280
Default

Smoke detector


Hello
I'm planning to install new detectors (smoke and CO2 combined)
I was looking at the current one in my basement
Which type it is exactly? Especially with those 2 thin wires?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Smoke detector-20190204_174615.jpg  
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2019, 07:17 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,367
Rewards Points: 940
Default

Re: Smoke detector


That looks like a regular 120V smoke detector. The two small wires are a transformer to pick a low voltage load( door bell or security system are the most common.

Do you have more than one smoke detector, if so there should be a 3 wire run between all the detectors.
joecaption likes this.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2019, 07:48 PM   #3
RRH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 697
Rewards Points: 1,394
Default

Re: Smoke detector


I agree.

The white and red wires have nothing to do with your smoke detector.
RRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2019, 06:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 1,280
Default

Re: Smoke detector


There was an alarm system installed when we purchased the house 7 years ago, that I never used by the way
I will check, but I guess the 2 wires goes to the alarm then
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 10:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,444
Rewards Points: 680
Default

Re: Smoke detector


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
There was an alarm system installed when we purchased the house 7 years ago, that I never used by the way
I will check, but I guess the 2 wires goes to the alarm then

Or a doorbell.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI, smoke detector and outlets Calab Electrical 17 10-12-2017 12:17 PM
Smoke Detector Placement.... NorPlan Safety 20 10-15-2016 10:05 AM
Smoke detector install help cpgoose Electrical 5 02-19-2014 12:07 PM
Replacing a FireX smoke detector. Toller Electrical 1 12-07-2013 10:39 AM
Smoke detector in garage? BlueBSH Electrical 6 03-18-2010 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts