Smart Meters - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-06-2015, 08:35 AM   #16
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,084
Rewards Points: 796
Default


An issue with smart meters is interference with home automation that use PLC (Power Line Communication).
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2015, 10:55 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 5,744
Rewards Points: 10,402
Default


They put a smart-meter on my house and I didn't have a choice. They also wanted me to give them remote access to turn off certain circuits (air conditioning typically) at times of very high demand and limited power availability. Don't remember exactly what kind of discount they were offering if I signed up for that --- but not a chance. One day, some hacker is going to decide to see what happens if he turns off everybody's power.
I believe they would have had to add additional hardware to do remote management. I sure hope its not just a software dis-able.
I was just reading the other day that my poco missed by a billion dollars on the cost to implement all these smart meters. No problem, just jack up the rates.
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SPS-1 For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2015, 11:06 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,551
Rewards Points: 6,664
Default


I get a $10 a year credit for them to be able to turn off my compressor during high peak usage.
They can turn it of 10 minutes every hour.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (01-06-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2015, 01:14 PM   #19
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,151
Rewards Points: 31,614
Blog Entries: 11
Default


The AC control is by way of a thermostat they install that lets them turn up the temp by two degrees if the demand on the system gets too great.
Some smart meters have a disconnect built into them that can remotely be turned off for non payment etc.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Old 01-06-2015, 02:07 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6,715
Rewards Points: 90
Default


I just talked to someone at the power company. To opt-out of having the smart meter put in, they charge $69.39 and there would be an additional fee of $9.72 per month on our bill. The extra monthly fee is for them to come out and read the meter.

They used to send us a card in the mail each month. We would use it to read the meter and call them to report the numbers and they'd bill us according to our reading. Every so often they would read the meter too. I asked the lady on the phone if we could just do that instead of paying the $9.72 per month and she said they don't offer that service anymore.

She did tell me that if we have the smart meter installed and don't like it, we can ask to have it replaced with the old style for a fee of $123.91 and we'd still have to pay the extra $9.72 each month. Of course, in the future, they could change their minds and not offer that service anymore either or charge a much higher fee.

We haven't decided what to do yet.
__________________

gma2rjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 03:18 PM   #21
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 14,598
Rewards Points: 18,186
Blog Entries: 2
Default


I have a smart meter...

I can see what my usage is by the hour

The meter is in the back of the house so I don't have to worry about someone coming into my yard to read it.

I don't have AC or electric heat. So, nothing to really turn off.

I can't imagine what kind of information about me they can gain while monitoring the power I use.

For those that are concerned....you do have options....put in solar and go off grid.

Or, wear a tin hat.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (01-06-2015), gregzoll (01-06-2015)
Old 01-06-2015, 03:31 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 372
Rewards Points: 344
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by gma2rjc View Post
We haven't decided what to do yet.
I guess you don't like money very much, because it seems like an obvious answer to me.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JKeefe For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-06-2015), Oso954 (01-06-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible? JSchool Electrical 9 11-16-2012 05:09 AM
GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch vanisle Electrical 8 10-27-2010 12:34 AM
one service main two meters danadude1 Electrical 15 02-28-2010 12:17 AM
What trim is more water resistant and holds paint better: Miratec or Smart Trim? Studly Building & Construction 4 10-03-2009 07:45 AM
GE cl200 kwa meters protechplumbing Electrical 15 09-22-2008 11:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts