Sizing Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-21-2010, 10:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

sizing Panel


We are planning to upgrade our exisiting panel in our vintage 1970's mountain home. With the exception of the furnace, the house and adjoining studio is 100% electric. Our ongoing remodel includes electric tile heaters, and other energy consumers. We'd like to calculate the overall load to determine if we need a 320 or 400amp panel. Can someone advise us on a reference to do this calculation?
Thanks! Steve
Steve Burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2010, 12:06 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


http://www.zenfixit.com/load_calculations.shtml

try this link or google 'electrical load calculations'
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2010, 12:17 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Question: Is the furnace your primary heat source? Will all the electrical be on one meter? Will the water heater be electric?
The reason for asking is some things are considered a continuous load and have to be figured differently. For instance, if you had a 20 amp circuit feeding some type of heating device, you calculate the load at 80% which means this circuit can only have a 16 amp load.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2010, 12:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Thanks to you both. Appreciate the link as well as the insight about sizing load on continuous loads. We will have a single meter, electric H2O heater, some electric floors, and some electric toilets (Washlet). Our fuel oil furnace is a bit of a beast and looking for other ways to deliver heat to only those areas in need. Since there is no natural gas where we are at, and propance has fewer BTUs than fuel oil we will likely keep the beast for now.
Steve Burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts