Single Pole Timer Switch With 4 Lines Incoming - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-18-2011, 12:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

single pole timer switch with 4 lines incoming


I'm trying to install a Leviton preset timer switch in my bathroom. I successfully installed one in my other bathroom, but it only had two wires attached (Load & Line). The second bathroom has two switches in the junction box, and four wires that connect. I've tried all types of combination, none successful. At the moment, all the white wires are connected, and all most of the black are connected. It currently works with simple one pole switches.

Should I simply run the black and whites separately to each switch? I'm not sure why they are connected since they go to different switches. I'm wondering what combo to try next.
thanks for any help.
billyjeenyus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2011, 01:20 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,918
Rewards Points: 3,832
Default


Unless they are used as part of a switch loop white wires should not be connected to a switch. If you had a switch loop you would have a hot white and a black switch controlled hot.

Were the whites connected to the old switch?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
wiring problem , wiring with extra wires


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Re-wire dual pole switch to single pole bujaman Electrical 3 05-31-2011 06:09 AM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
Wiring a single pole switch with a pilot light gabriel246 Electrical 5 10-31-2009 06:03 PM
installing a single pole switch yummy mummy Electrical 18 04-27-2007 07:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts