Single Outlet Not Working/working Intermit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-21-2010, 10:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

single outlet not working/working intermit


having trouble with a single outlet which is currently powering my microwave. outlet is a 110v (non GFI) on the same circuit as the stove on a 50amp breaker (seems like a strange setup but that the wiring). this evening power cut to my microwave completely when it was not in use (clock went out), then came back on.

The rest of the house was fine so it wasn't a power failure, breaker wasn't tripped (although might be tough to trip a 50 amp breaker with a 110 v outlet, no?). I checked the wiring in the outlet and everything is tightly connected.

The only thing i can think of is maybe the outlet just went bad. Going to try to replace the outlet tomorrow but would like some advice in case i might be missing something.
dd979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2010, 10:13 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,164
Rewards Points: 972
Default


First an foremost, the setup you have is not to code.
The answer to you problems could lie in the connection from the stove to the receptacle.
How many wire feed the stove, 3 or 4?
To fix this properly, yoou must run a circuit from the micro back to the main panel
The wire feeding the micro will burn to a crisp before that 50 amp breaker detects an overcurrent.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2010, 10:20 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,828
Rewards Points: 23,998
Blog Entries: 11
Default


It doesn't matter where the problem is. You must run a new circuit for the microwave. You can not run it off the 50 amp stove circuit no matter how long it has been like this.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2010, 04:30 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


well i suppose that's just my luck. running a new circuit is going to be a big project (wiring is actually behind the kitchen cabinets). You think there would be any danger to just leaving the outlet unused until i can get a free weekend or two?
dd979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 09:25 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dd979 View Post
leaving the outlet unused
No current passing through it so no heat dissipated in a bad connection so no problem.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Power through outlet to two single pole switches aaronmoon Electrical 2 08-12-2009 08:29 AM
Single outlet rkhpapa Electrical 8 11-04-2007 07:12 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts