Single Gang Double-switch To Double Gang W/ Two Single Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-09-2014, 11:07 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 223

Single Gang Double-switch to Double Gang w/ Two Single Switches

All - (Pls see pix below)

I'm no electrician and am converting a single-gang double switch (which controls a ceiling fan and a light attached to the bottom of that same ceiling fan) to a double gang box that will have 2 separate switches to control that same ceiling fan and light. My son and I think the following info is correct:

- The light blue wire carries power from the attic to the switch. Pls note that in the picture the blue wire is NOT cut (sorry for the blurry pix) but is merely stripped, makes contact with the switch and then continues down through the conduit to energize an outlet slightly right and below this switch (not pictured).

- The 2 black wires carry power from the double switch back up through the wall to the ceiling fan and light; 1 black wire is for the ceiling fan and 1 black wire is for the ceiling fan light.

- The white wire is simply a common/return line bringing power back from the lower outlet (bypassing the switch) up to the junction box in the attic.

- There is no ground wire.

Have I got all that correct?

If so....

Question #1 - I know I need to cut the light blue wire and connect it to the new light switch (with the dimmer), but to what specific terminal? Top left? Bottom left?

Question #2 - I need a jumper wire to carry power from the new dimmer light switch on the left to the new fan switch on the right?

Question #3 - If so, what terminals do I connect from/to with the jumper wire?