Should I Drill The Top Plates - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By jbfan
  • 2 Post By jbfan
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-07-2019, 09:15 AM   #1
Member
 
RustyRealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 406
Rewards Points: 711
Default

Should I Drill the Top Plates


Hello Everyone,

This is probably a silly question, but here goes.

The house (one side of a duplex) I'm wiring is frame construction with brick veneer on a concrete slab. The stud wall framing is 2 or 3" from the brick, attached with brick ties. Some of the walls have a triple top plate.

Currently I have the Romex from the attic going over the top plates and down to the switches/receptacles. But of course I am second guessing myself and wonder what the inspector will say. I haven't stapled anything yet and it would be fairly easy to change.

Should I drill the top plates, or leave it as is?

Thanks Very Much,
Russell
RustyRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2019, 09:47 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,069
Rewards Points: 794
Default

Re: Should I Drill the Top Plates


Leave it as is.
MrElectricianTV likes this.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2019, 10:57 AM   #3
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 25,294
Rewards Points: 18,478
Default

Re: Should I Drill the Top Plates


There is a fire rated caulk fo those holes before you insulate.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-12-2019, 03:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 484
Default

Re: Should I Drill the Top Plates


I would drill through the top plate and cover the hole with the same metal plate protector used to protect romex running through studs. Home theater installers go through triple top plates all the time. The original "electrician" was being lazy which is quite common.
Calson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 06:36 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,069
Rewards Points: 794
Default

Re: Should I Drill the Top Plates


Quote:
Originally Posted by Calson View Post
I would drill through the top plate and cover the hole with the same metal plate protector used to protect romex running through studs. Home theater installers go through triple top plates all the time. The original "electrician" was being lazy which is quite common.
No one was being lazy! The wires went over the top plate, behind the wall to the switches and receptacles. Happens all the time.
brric and MrElectricianTV like this.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 07:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 400
Rewards Points: 58
Default


Is there sheathing between the studs and brick? I would drill centered in the studs and seal the holes after wiring.
Wiredindallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 11:35 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 34
Default

Re: Should I Drill the Top Plates


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiredindallas View Post
Is there sheathing between the studs and brick? I would drill centered in the studs and seal the holes after wiring.
I was wondering this too; has to be right, to separate/seal the air space between the brick and wall studs (best if plywood but could be cardboard thermoply).

The space can't be left open because of moisture and rodent issues.

The brick has to have weep holes at the bottom of it and if that electrical cable is run in that air space, mice will make their way through the weep holes and chew it up.

Assuming there is sheathing - (1) drill through the middle of the top plates and run the cable; (2) seal the holes with fireproof sealant; (3) attach metal plates across all areas where you drilled through top plates to protect from drywall/paneling nails/screws hitting cables.

Last edited by DIYERSCOTT; 06-13-2019 at 11:38 AM.
DIYERSCOTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 11:58 AM   #8
Member
 
RustyRealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 406
Rewards Points: 711
Default

Re: Should I Drill the Top Plates


Sorry for the delayed reply - my wifi is giving me problems.

There is no sheathing between the brick and studs.

My plan is to spray-foam the the brick walls, and then I want to paint the exterior.

What is a "progress inspection"?
__________________
Thanks,
Russell
RustyRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 06:03 PM   #9
Contractor/Engineer
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
Posts: 557
Rewards Points: 1,106
Default

Re: Should I Drill the Top Plates


Ask your inspector, he's the one you want to make happy.

It's easy - tell him you want to make sure you comply with municipal code.

Any inspector I've had appreciates it when you make their job easier.
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts