Shorter Wire Or Longer Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-07-2010, 08:48 PM   #1
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 374
Rewards Points: 450
Default

shorter wire or longer wire


i am adding a couple of rooms, and need to run new wires.

what is a better approach in general: use shorter wires and connect shorter wires using junction boxes to reach the load; or use long wires and no junctions?

thank you
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2010, 08:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


The only junctions should be in a box
I make my runs to the 1st outlet or switch box
Then branch off from there

The less junctions the better...Zero junctions is best



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2010, 09:04 PM   #3
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default


Here's a good issue for personal preference. I like long un-broken runs - less points for potential failure. But, I also try to plan JBoxes in strategic locations for easy later access.

I would recommend that you start planning your wiring diagram and post an image here. I got GREAT advice for the most efficient way to set up my installs.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2010, 11:34 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If the walls are open then go with longest one as possible to advoid any junction box along the run.

So basically what you are doing is making a homerun to first switch box or recetpale box depending on the circuit layout it will be.

Keep in your mind majotry of locations will be on 2008 NEC code so you will have to address with AFCI circuits in there unless you got the bathroom then the bathroom no it do not need AFCI at all but you will have to run a delcated 20 amp circuit to the bathroom this is very spefic on the NEC code

If you are from Canada the code will be slightly diffrent if so let us know one of the members here is from Canada he is famuair with the CEC requirement.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:21 AM   #5
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 374
Rewards Points: 450
Default


im in quebec, canada.

as it is for 1st floor, and everything is newly framed, i can access the basement and the open walls. so, homerun it is.
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:48 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Ahh in Québec that is nice area.

I can reply in both Engish and French if necessery.

Anyway just keep in your mind about the most recent code change in your area the best bet is check with your inspector for latest infomation related to the code.

{ French Verison }
Gardez de toute façon juste dans votre avis du changement de code le plus récent de votre secteur la meilleure option est le vérifier avec votre inspecteur pour dernier infomation lié au code.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 06:41 PM
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 12:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts