Short Run Of Romex Outdoor, Conduit Ok? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-05-2010, 05:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Short run of romex outdoor, Conduit ok?


I need to run two new circuits of 8/2 from my distribution panel to a new tankless water heater in my garage. Each run is about 75'.

My distribution panel is mounted on the surface of my (brick) exterior wall, so I don't think that it would be possible for me to fish any new wire up there.

The top of my panel is about a foot below my soffet, so I was thinking that I could stick a small piece of conduit in that space and just pull the new romex through it, up into my attic space, and then over to my garage where the water heater will be installed.

Any thoughts?
I'm guesstimating that 1-1/2" conduit would be big enough.
Is ENT suitable or would I need EMT?
Spaceball1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2010, 05:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If romex is outside it must be rated for wet installation, even in conduit
Is the garage (fully) attached to the house (I'm thinking yes) ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2010, 05:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
If romex is outside it must be rated for wet installation, even in conduit
Is the garage attached to the house ?
Even if it's in a location where it can't get wet? Dang.. So I need UB Romex?

Yes, the garage is attached and the water heater will be mounted on the wall. I'll use the leftover conduit to route the romex down the wall to the disconnects.
Spaceball1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2010, 06:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


That's usually the case...even just for 1'
Some might just do it anyways....but I'd check with the inspector 1st



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:14 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Is there a reason he can't just use individual strands THWN wire inside the conduit?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:54 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
richgriffith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


yes you can run individual strands of THWN in P.V.C. run four No.8 Feeder conductors & one NO.6 Ground. and you can use 1'' P.V.C. conduit.

Last edited by richgriffith; 01-06-2010 at 07:25 PM.
richgriffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 03:26 PM   #7
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


What you can do is run conduit up to your attic set a J-box for the conduit to terminate into,run THWN to the j-box then chacge over to NM (romex) cable. This would be code compliant.

Now are you sure you only need #8 NM. What is the current draw for each circuit?
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by richgriffith View Post
yes you can run individual strands of THWN in ENT. run four No.8 Feeder conductors & one NO.6 Ground. and you can use 1'' ENT.
ENT outdoors?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:09 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
richgriffith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


look in your 2008 code book. article 362.10 you can run ENT exposed outdoors.
richgriffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:25 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by richgriffith View Post
look in your 2008 code book. article 362.10 you can run ENT exposed outdoors.
I did. It only says it can be used in wet locations indoor, in a concrete slab, or below grade.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:27 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
richgriffith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


P.V.C pipe is what i meant sorry. what the h#ll is ENT? is that like the flexible stuff. never use it. my bad didn't mean to miss lead anyone.
richgriffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:31 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by richgriffith View Post
P.V.C pipe is what i meant sorry. what the h#ll is ENT? is that like the flexible stuff. never use it. my bad didn't mean to miss lead anyone.
Ok. That makes more sense. ENT is smurf tube. RNC is hard PVC conduit.

Last edited by jerryh3; 01-06-2010 at 07:35 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:46 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
richgriffith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


ok, yeah i think i used it once or twice along time ago to pull low voltage through. like i said got the two mixed up. Electrical nonmetallic tubing i always thought they were referring to pvc. well im glade to know that. too error is human my friend.
richgriffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 03:27 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by richgriffith View Post
yes you can run individual strands of THWN in P.V.C. run four No.8 Feeder conductors & one NO.6 Ground. and you can use 1'' P.V.C. conduit.
According to my charts, a #10 ground would be acceptable.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
romex clamped against bx knockout in old box kbm774 Electrical 11 08-16-2010 01:53 PM
OK to do a short, unsupported, vertical run of romex in finished wall? TomServo Electrical 2 10-04-2009 07:43 AM
Connecting Romex at Panel Bocolo Electrical 14 02-21-2009 05:55 AM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM
Romex to BX fifaboy Electrical 1 02-27-2005 04:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts