Service Upgrade - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-31-2010, 08:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western NYS
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Service Upgrade


I'm looking into upgrading the service from the 100 amp to a 200 amp.

I have the book from the power company on all the oudside stuff. is it accepted by code (I'm in NYS) to have junction boxes to extend the wire into the new panel? The current is a mess of fuze boxes fairly close to the floor and obviusly the new panew would be higher and there's not anywhere near enough wire int he walls to have any kind of slack.
mdlbldrmatt135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2010, 09:42 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


do you mean from the new panel to the old panel or old panel location?


It shouldn't be any problem as long as you respect proper wire or conduit use, pipe fill, and box fill codes when doing this.

you cannot cover junction boxes. They must remain accessible.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2010, 06:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western NYS
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default


from the old panel location to extend the wires to the new location.

The good thing is the Gas meter was moved outside the house so I have room within a couple of feet of the old panel to mount the new.
mdlbldrmatt135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2010, 12:55 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


sounds like it would be fine. Just use approved wiring methods. I know in some parts of NY NM (romex) is not allowed and due to my unfamiliarity with NY codes, I do not know what is and is not allowed in any specific area.

just make sure what you use is approved by your local building department and inspector.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:31 PM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I recently had an electrical inspection done in my own house, also in NYS (I am upstate in the Albany area). The neutral feed to the meter wasn't quite long enough to make it to the neutral bus bar, so they extended it with a "split bolt". The inspector said that this was not up to code, and you need to use an "irreversible connection" to make this splice. I hired an electrician a couple weeks ago to replace this bolt for me. He used a crimper and metal tube. He slid each wire (I think #4) into an end of the tube, and crimped it with a huge crimper. The only way to remove it is to cut it of.

It sounds like this might be the proper method to splice your neutral. Not sure what you'd do about the hots, since you wouldn't the metal tube exposed. If i were installing a new panel, I'd prefer new wires run from the meter rather than extending existing ones.

Take all this with a grain of salt, because these other guys know way more than I do
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 02-01-2010 at 01:33 PM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:12 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I recently had an electrical inspection done in my own house, also in NYS (I am upstate in the Albany area). The neutral feed to the meter wasn't quite long enough to make it to the neutral bus bar, so they extended it with a "split bolt". The inspector said that this was not up to code, and you need to use an "irreversible connection" to make this splice. I hired an electrician a couple weeks ago to replace this bolt for me. He used a crimper and metal tube. He slid each wire (I think #4) into an end of the tube, and crimped it with a huge crimper. The only way to remove it is to cut it of.

It sounds like this might be the proper method to splice your neutral. Not sure what you'd do about the hots, since you wouldn't the metal tube exposed. If i were installing a new panel, I'd prefer new wires run from the meter rather than extending existing ones.

Take all this with a grain of salt, because these other guys know way more than I do
he is putting in a new service and new panel and especially since the new service will require larger wire, I suspect he will not be faced with your situation but other than that, yes, your advice is relevant and sound..


btw? there are insulating materials that would provide an acceptable repair if needed.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western NYS
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Yeah full new service & panel.. moving the meter head outside, as it's currently indoors (they did upgrade to remode read a couple of years ago now)

The other issue is not all the wires have grounds in them. The ones that do are to the wet areas (Kitchen, Bathroom & Laundry areas) as I had to put in a sub panel for a electric dryar and just went ahead and upgraded all those anyway. The house was built in the mid 40's if that helps with the wire type I can say it's not Aluminum.
mdlbldrmatt135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 09:38 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


depending on how your local area treats it, that (lack of grounds) could be a problem or not. Where I live, I do not believe it would present a problem as the inspector would consider it existing. In other areas I believe the inspectors would require egc's as what ever is connected to your work can be required to be installed to current standards depending on how you interpret the code.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 05:36 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western NYS
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I'd hope the worst would be making me change the 3 pronged outlest back to 2........ the others were easy to upgrade while I had a couple of walls & part of the celing opened up to run the new wire for the dryer,.... Guess it couldn't hurt to ask Code Enforcement.
mdlbldrmatt135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:54 PM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


you don't seem to be trying to hide anything so asking would be the best thing.

sounds like you are on the right track with this.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 08:58 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


Done yet?
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:31 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western NYS
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I'm currently working on Funding for the project...... not like I have a few grand laying around.
mdlbldrmatt135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When to upgrade service? rlblair Electrical 3 11-21-2009 08:00 AM
150amp to 200amp service upgrade... theatretch85 Electrical 30 07-06-2009 05:02 PM
service upgrade work4six-s Electrical 3 07-06-2009 11:07 AM
DIY 200A main service upgrade? Philip_Soldat Electrical 54 09-07-2008 11:02 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts