Service Entrance Main Breaker Revamp - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-31-2010, 02:54 PM   #16
Knothead
 
sandersdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


HD doesn't sell 200A main lug panels, but I did luck out and find a 125A 24/24 main lug at the third HD I went to. That will give me twice the spaces I had with the 12/24 which should be adequate with several spaces left for future expansion if required.
sandersdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2010, 05:49 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
....I got a bit lost with kbsparky and the underground conduit. Did I miss something? ....
Picture attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Service Entrance Main Breaker Revamp-conduit.jpg  
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2010, 05:56 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by sandersdon View Post
....As far as making the conduit continuous, where is that in the code? I'd like to know for future reference. I searched and searched but could not find any requirements to make it continuous, only to protect it where subject to physical damage...
Try 300.18
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2010, 02:10 AM   #19
Knothead
 
sandersdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Try 300.18
It seems the focus of 300.18 is that the construction of the raceway, subject to all the requirements listed elsewhere regarding protection from physical damage or continuity for bonding, must be complete before installing the cable. That's my take based on the context and all the other references to protection.

To interpret otherwise would be in conflict with other sections including the one that allows protection to the point of entry of a building. I also spoke with a local residential electrican who agreed with that interpretation.

No trying to be contrary, just reading what's there and trying to sort through all the requirements. It would help if I didn't have to use the online version of the code - it only allows one to read one page at a time. Everytime it references another requirement in a different section I have to click through umpteen pages to get there, then click all the way back. Frustrating to say the least.

Thanks again for your input and guidance.
sandersdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 11:27 AM   #20
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Not sure what the dispute is here. If the cable being used does not require a conduit system, you do not have to have a continuous conduit system. You can protect only the section that needs protection.

if you use a wire or cable that must be in conduit, it simply has to be continuous from j box (or whatever) to j box (or whatever)


I think the miscommunication came in where KB said the NM or the SE cables are not allowed underground and further suggested simply making the conduit system complete and use THWN.

after that, the entire conversation kind of went to Hell




thanks KB. For some reason I was not associating that conduit with the conduit outside that goes into the ground.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:19 PM   #21
Knothead
 
sandersdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Not sure what the dispute is here. If the cable being used does not require a conduit system, you do not have to have a continuous conduit system. You can protect only the section that needs protection.

if you use a wire or cable that must be in conduit, it simply has to be continuous from j box (or whatever) to j box (or whatever)


I think the miscommunication came in where KB said the NM or the SE cables are not allowed underground and further suggested simply making the conduit system complete and use THWN.
All that makes sense to me.

Quote:
after that, the entire conversation kind of went to Hell.
Not sure what you mean here. For my part I have no problem with anything said and appreciate everyone's input.
sandersdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 09:39 PM   #22
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by sandersdon View Post
Not sure what you mean here. For my part I have no problem with anything said and appreciate everyone's input.
didn't mean it in a bad way. Just watching you and KBsparky going back and forth with an obvious miscommunication somewhere. Kind of like watching a tennis game with no ball. Neither side connects.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Help! I broke my main disconnect breaker kosherdill Electrical 7 02-01-2009 08:23 AM
Main Breaker won't stay on Please Help mikpowl Electrical 8 01-10-2008 09:22 AM
Main disconnect breaker coyote556 Electrical 9 08-01-2007 04:52 AM
Arced main lug in service panel burgeke Electrical 4 11-02-2006 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts