SER Or SEU - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-26-2009, 09:19 PM   #16
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks Speedy, So under the 08 code I can set a meter base combo outside and feed my ac outside then run a Ser 4/0 Al cable to my 200 amp panel inside.
Just like the 05 code.
Some people we're telling me I needed conduit and single strand 4/0 al.

Is this because of the derating percentages.
This is a duplex
Penczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 09:23 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Regardless of any changes to the code, I have NEVER heard of SER being red tagged for this.
If you have been hearing this I would definitely check with your local authority though.

Yet ANOTHER stupid 2008 NEC change!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 09:34 PM   #18
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks, I see why they call you Speedy
Penczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2009, 08:04 AM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,665
Rewards Points: 3,746
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Penczak View Post
Thanks Speedy, So under the 08 code I can set a meter base combo outside and feed my ac outside then run a Ser 4/0 Al cable to my 200 amp panel inside.
Just like the 05 code.
Some people we're telling me I needed conduit and single strand 4/0 al.
With this setup the 4/0 would not be feeding the entire load of the dwelling and would need to be sized per 310.16, not 310.15(B)(6).

Ironic that you can take a portion of the load off and need to run larger conductors.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 07:36 PM   #20
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
With this setup the 4/0 would not be feeding the entire load of the dwelling and would need to be sized per 310.16, not 310.15(B)(6).

Ironic that you can take a portion of the load off and need to run larger conductors.
But if it is feeding the whole load. It (SER) does not require conduit, right?
Penczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:28 PM   #21
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
With this setup the 4/0 would not be feeding the entire load of the dwelling and would need to be sized per 310.16, not 310.15(B)(6).
How do you figure Jim? We are talking about between a main disconnect and the main distribution panel, right? Or am I missing something?

You'd be technically right if it were a feed through panel outside.
Again, it is completely absurd that this change ever made it in. I still cannot see why or how they could justify requiring a feeder cable be larger conductor than the service entrance cable.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:45 PM   #22
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
How do you figure Jim? We are talking about between a main disconnect and the main distribution panel, right? Or am I missing something?

You'd be technically right if it were a feed through panel outside.
Again, it is completely absurd that this change ever made it in. I still cannot see why or how they could justify requiring a feeder cable be larger conductor than the service entrance cable.
My thoughts are that they did not intentionally do this. But people we're doing there bare minimum for sub panels.
Such as the 6 two pole breaker panel with no main. Lot a guys would run the entire branch circuits and the dryer with #2 Al on a 90 amp breaker.

I hear that it will be worded different in the 2011 NEC
Penczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:22 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 322
Default


I asked the city inspector here the same question. He said for the main feed from the pole, the poco gets to decide what is code. For the wiring between disconnect and distribution panel, this is residential wiring, so the city gets to decide what is code. He felt the poco here always undersizes their feeds, so I was not allowed to use the same SER for my 200A panel to panel connection. I believe the poco is planning to use 2/0 al, and I had to use 2/0 copper THHN.
tns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 11:26 AM   #24
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


2/0CU is the standard size for a residential 200A service entrance.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 10:17 AM   #25
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,665
Rewards Points: 3,746
Default


Pete,

He said the AC was being fed from a seperate breaker at the disco with another breaker feeding the panel in the house. Thus the SER is not serving the entire load of the dwelling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penczak View Post
Thanks Speedy, So under the 08 code I can set a meter base combo outside and feed my ac outside then run a Ser 4/0 Al cable to my 200 amp panel inside.
Just like the 05 code.
Some people we're telling me I needed conduit and single strand 4/0 al.

Is this because of the derating percentages.
This is a duplex
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 01:20 PM   #26
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Pete,

He said the AC was being fed from a seperate breaker at the disco with another breaker feeding the panel in the house. Thus the SER is not serving the entire load of the dwelling.
So is 4/0 SER good. No conduit
Penczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 05:45 PM   #27
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Pete,

He said the AC was being fed from a seperate breaker at the disco with another breaker feeding the panel in the house. Thus the SER is not serving the entire load of the dwelling.
I guess some inspectors are being sticklers about this obvious aberration of the code.
I would still run 2/0cu or 4/0al. Common sense tells me there is ABSOLUTELY NO REASON to run a larger feeder than the service entrance conductors.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 09:40 PM   #28
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Is conduit required ?
Penczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 06:35 AM   #29
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Penczak View Post
Is conduit required ?
Not for SE cable unless it is a sleeve for protection.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts