Seperate Bedroom Circuits? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-27-2010, 01:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Seperate Bedroom Circuits?


I have a 2 bedroom house and the bedrooms are side by side. I need to update the wiring and was wondering if both bedrooms can be on the same circuit or does each bedroom have to be on their own circuit?
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2010, 01:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 330
Default


if easy to do split,if not they can be on same ckt if not heavly loaded.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Can the outlets and lights be on the same circuit?
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2010, 02:21 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,151
Rewards Points: 948
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by mxingislife View Post
Can the outlets and lights be on the same circuit?
Yes, and they need to be AFCI protected.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 02:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Thanks jbfan. So the answer is yes, code is ok for both bedrooms to be on one circuit for outlets and lights, but it has to be on a AFCI breaker?
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 03:56 PM   #6
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Consider also the potential loads in a modern bedroom: Exercise equipment, electric heaters, video and audio equipment, etc. - might make sense to put them on separate circuits.
__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:19 PM   #7
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Personally if I was in a position to run electrical for a house and the walls are open and easy to access, I'd run 2 circuits per bedroom, maybe even 3. 2 receptacle circuits, and one for lights. While you're there may as well future proof as much as you can. I'd also make sure there is an outlet near a window, for an AC unit if ever you decide to add a window one. Maybe have the window outlet be dedicated, the rest of the outlets on another circuit as one group, and lights on another circuit. The only down side to this is if it all has to be AFCI protected, then that increases cost by a lot. The cost of the extra wiring is insignificant at this point, when the breakers are like 50 bucks a pop.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I run lights on one circuit
Then each bedroom has a dedicated circuit for outlets
Master bedroom has a 2nd circuit
These days I never share a circuit between bedrooms



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:30 PM   #9
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I'd split off outlets and lighting. Keep in mind window a/c can use a decent amount. Do you plan to use them?

If you CAN split them, and you have plenty of space in the panel, split them. You will not be unhappy with more circuits later. But you will be unhappy with one big circuit that trips all the time.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 09:43 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I have enough space in my panel to seperate the bedrooms. I live in northern california and the warmest it gets in the summer is in the low 70's so a/c is not needed. And each of the bedrooms only have one ceiling light fixture.

I'm thinking of running the romex under my house to access the bedrooms. Is this ok? Does the wire need to be protected with anything if it is ran under the house, or just secured to the framing/joists with romex staples?

Or if I decide not to do under the house can I run it along my house through rigid pvc conduit? Is that up to code?
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:11 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Can any animals access the underside where you will run wires ?
Some will chew on wires
Is it an enclosed space ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 07:08 AM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


Under the 08 NEC you cannot staple cables that small under the joists. You need to run thru bored holes or on running boards.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:21 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I have a concrete perimeter foundation and all vents and the crawlspace have screens, so animals shouldn't be able to get to it.

It looks like an animal was under the house in the past though because a lot of the insulation is ripped and hanging from the joists.
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many circuits for bedrooms? Clutchcargo Electrical 5 08-10-2010 09:40 AM
Amending Bedroom Circuits for Recessed Lighting FirstHome121 Electrical 2 03-29-2010 05:27 PM
AFCI and 3-wire circuits...ugghh mhops Electrical 11 03-17-2010 11:22 AM
Arc Fault Break Tripping when any light switch turned on elab1 Electrical 60 11-20-2009 01:24 PM
Adding odd circuits in a bedroom and hood fan oh my! beatle Electrical 3 11-19-2009 07:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts