Separate Circuits In Same J-box? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-10-2010, 03:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

separate circuits in same j-box?


Had a quick question for you guys...can you have different circuits in the same j-box? Is this against code?
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2010, 04:00 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


This is not a problem. A good idea to mark each hot wire with a circuit number. And do not get the neutrals mixed up.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2010, 04:57 PM   #3
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default


J-Boxes are cheap. I wouldn't put two circuits in one if I had any way to avoid it.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2010, 06:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I kinda figured it wouldn't be a good idea...at least not mix up out of phase mains in the same j-box...i imagine that would be a big no no
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 07:49 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


It is more common than what you think espceally with kitchen or other room like bathroom etc.,,

I will give you a example in kitchen this one is pretty common done.

One circuit for SABC { Small Applanice Branch Circuit } and second circuit is lighting circuit something that you used above the sink luminaire.

In commercal I done that pretty often I am not sure if other electrician will chime in with this matter { try that with triphase supply that will give you a headahce if not carefull }

The other common example is MWBC { Mulit Wire Branch Circuit } you will have two circuit in one cable or in conduit that is common as well.

Both above metion items they are legit with NEC and CEC and of course ECF { Electrique Code France }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 08:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
It is more common than what you think espceally with kitchen or other room like bathroom etc.,,

I will give you a example in kitchen this one is pretty common done.

One circuit for SABC { Small Applanice Branch Circuit } and second circuit is lighting circuit something that you used above the sink luminaire.

In commercal I done that pretty often I am not sure if other electrician will chime in with this matter { try that with triphase supply that will give you a headahce if not carefull }

The other common example is MWBC { Mulit Wire Branch Circuit } you will have two circuit in one cable or in conduit that is common as well.

Both above metion items they are legit with NEC and CEC and of course ECF { Electrique Code France }

Merci,Marc
I had a little dilemma similar to what you talked about here...there was a 14-3 wire from a light to a single pole switch which i thought was odd...then later i figured out that they were supplying power and controlling the light with the 14-3 wire...weird
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:11 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,910
Rewards Points: 80
Default


It's very common in commercial/industrial to run different circuits in the same J-box. Even different voltages.

One code issue here (really doesn't apply to many houses) is circuits supplied by a normal source can't be in the same conduit/J-boxes as circuits supplied by the emergency system.

Another is that all conductors in a conduit/J-box must be rated for the highest voltage present, regardless of the actual voltage they're carrying.

As stated above, it's somewhat common to have different circuits in one J-box, just label each hot with the circuit number and keep the neutrals separate. All grounds tie together though.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 07:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default


perfect i like this forum...any amateur electrician can be a master on here ; )

Thanks to all who replied
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI and 3-wire circuits...ugghh mhops Electrical 11 03-17-2010 11:22 AM
Adding odd circuits in a bedroom and hood fan oh my! beatle Electrical 3 11-19-2009 07:45 AM
15A receptacle circuits in kitchen _in addition to_ 2x 20A? WaldenL Electrical 4 09-18-2009 04:58 PM
Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker Michael H Electrical 22 06-29-2009 08:22 AM
replacing old wire on existing circuits... red86yota Electrical 9 12-08-2008 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts