Sanding Of Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 08:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sanding of wires


Whenever I replace a receptacle or switch, etc, I have made a habit of sanding the bare portion of the wires to remove oxidation. Is that a good idea, or do I run the risk of removing enough copper to essentially reduce the current carrying capacity of the wire. I definitely avoid over-doing it and only use a very fine sand paper.

Thanks,

Marc
mkrawitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2010, 09:50 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


'Nobody' does it so it is apparently not necessary, except for soldered connections. Perhaps the screws cut through the oxide.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2010, 10:12 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


If the conductors look dark or oxidized I cut back to new surface or a quick rub with some fine sandpaper. I don't think reducing the ampacity is hurt by this and the resistance is probably lowered due to a clean surface.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2010, 10:13 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I have lightly sanded wires in the past to clean them up
It shouldn't effect the wire....unless you use a power sander



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 03:21 PM   #5
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 152
Default


I have also done it but i think it was more for me to know then the real need to do it.
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


'Nobody' is turning into a small crowd.

Does the NEC weigh in on this practice? High contact resistance can be a safety issue.

Or is it 'good practice', like putting the outlet ground hole on top?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I only do it on older wires & if they look discolored
And its only a very light sand - maybe 200-400 grit ?
If a lot of spare wire I will also sometimes just cut the bare piece off & strip more

Newer wiring I do not bother at all
Can't say as I have ever read anything in the NEC regarding it



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 06:14 PM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I would think steel wool would do a far better job and remove way less copper....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:56 PM   #9
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
I would think steel wool would do a far better job and remove way less copper....

DM
Good call!
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 11:13 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
I would think steel wool would do a far better job and remove way less copper....

DM
It do the same thing with alum conductors as well but go easy with it they will really grout it.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 14 01-10-2015 09:08 AM
Can't find the wires! brianmarsh Home Theater 2 01-24-2010 07:11 AM
Confusing Chandelier Wires Burnsy Electrical 21 02-22-2009 03:29 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts