Safely Wiring New Recessed Lights? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-17-2010, 09:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Safely Wiring New Recessed Lights?


I am planning remodeling my kitchen. I plan to call an electrician for some of the most complex wiring, but, a couple of the jobs are more or less typical DIY projects I might tackle. In the demo of the old kitchen, I see that the old flourescent light tubes are wired from a single circuit which uses uses a 20 amp breaker, with a 12/2 homerun through metallic conduit. The easiest thing for me would be to connect 14/3 Romex from the first junction box to each of the 6 recessed lights (75 watt max each.) The reason for asking this question is that I know that this might not be legal or safe at all, but, was wondering if there is a way to make it safe and legal. Would the following things make this safe/legal? First, connect the Romex grounding wire to the grounding screw in the original metal junction box. Second, replace the breaker with a 15 amp breaker. I am concerned that this might allow the 14 guage wire to heat up, but, thought that the 15 amp breaker might solve the problem. Again, I admit I am not electrician and that is why I am asking before making a dangerous mistake. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Destin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-17-2010, 10:34 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,150
Rewards Points: 946
Default


Any reason not to continue using #12?

Replacing the breaker is the only safe and sure way to not overload the #14.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Destin (03-17-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-17-2010, 04:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


The only reason isn't a good technical reason. I have almost a full 100ft roll of 14/3 Romex left over from another project. Thanks for the help.
Destin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-17-2010, 09:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If the circuit is already 20a then continue to use 12-2
Sell whats left of the roll of 14-3



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring several recessed lights from 1 switch raineydr Electrical 14 03-15-2010 08:52 AM
Recessed lights, wiring, breaker buzzing, etc diyguy999 Electrical 3 12-21-2009 01:10 PM
installed recessed lights but now switch does not work auggie77 Electrical 2 08-02-2009 10:11 AM
wiring recessed lights question. SubSailor Electrical 2 02-25-2008 12:39 PM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts