Running Wire To Detached Garage? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By joed
  • 1 Post By KPDMinc
  • 1 Post By rjniles
  • 1 Post By jbfan
  • 1 Post By UNelectrician
  • 1 Post By KPDMinc
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-26-2017, 05:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 6
Question

Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Hello All!

I have been reading a lot of different forums trying to find an answer to my question but it seems there is a lot of different interpretation to code. Since all the questions I have seen vary slightly from what I need to ask I figure I will register and post. Here is what I PLAN to do, please provide feedback on what part may be wrong and why. Thanks!
  • My run from the panel is about 110'
  • The first 40' is in my basement, the next 60' will be underground and the final 10' will be in the actual garage.
  • When I leave the basement and enter the ground, I would like to run 1" EMT. It will be a minimum of 12" deep.
  • I would like to run two 12-2 UF wires, each on an individual gfci 20 amp breaker at the panel. One wire to be used for lighting and other light duty stuff, the 2nd for receptacles.
  • I understand what is needed to enter into the ground and exit the ground to go into the garage so I'm good there, that seems to be pretty consistently answered.

Can I please get input? Any flaws that can be proven? I already seen many answers..."can run UH in conduit, no you can't","can run multiple wires, no you can't", "can use EMT, no you can't" etc.

FYI I already have a 250' roll of 12-2 UF wire and would like to use it.
Thanks ahead of time! Also I am in PA if it makes a difference.

JD
UNelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2017, 05:12 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


I also wanted to add there was originally a 12-2 run but it got dug up with an excavator. The original was 12-2 UF, NOT in conduit and was only 6" deep...so anything I do I think will be an improvement for sure and also a lesson for those that question the depth of "bare" wire. My understanding that condition requires 24" depth.
UNelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2017, 05:34 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,512
Rewards Points: 32,314
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Quote:
I would like to run two 12-2 UF wires, each on an individual gfci 20 amp breaker at the panel. One wire to be used for lighting and other light duty stuff, the 2nd for receptacles.
Not good. You are only permitted to run one circuit to a detached garage. If you ran a 12/3 multi wire branch circuit(MWBC) that would be fine. A MWBC use two hots and one shared neutral.
Chris130 likes this.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2017, 06:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Marcos (San Diego) CA
Posts: 1,401
Rewards Points: 312
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


sounds like you want to bury EMT? not a good idea... use PVC
brric likes this.
KPDMinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 06:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by KPDMinc View Post
sounds like you want to bury EMT? not a good idea... use PVC
Thanks guys. Joed it sounds like that rule is pretty cut and dry.

KPD I have seen thy our answer highly contested and it sounds like it is not cut and dry. Is it against code or just from bad experience? I did contemplate pvc however the ground is very hard and 13" is about the best sledding for me to manually dig it...that's why I was going with the metal. I already dug 20' at around 13"+.
UNelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 06:16 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,314
Rewards Points: 970
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


You can run a 12/3 20 amp, MWBC at 12" in PVC if fed by a 20 amp 2 pole GFCI breaker.

Sent from my RCT6203W46 using Tapatalk
mark_kershner likes this.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 07:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
You can run a 12/3 20 amp, MWBC at 12" in PVC if fed by a 20 amp 2 pole GFCI breaker.

Sent from my RCT6203W46 using Tapatalk
Thanks RJ. Do any of you guys agree with not using EMT?

So far for sure it seems like I can only run a single 12-2 (since that is what I have) and I need to use gfci breaker. What conduit to use at 12" if EMT is not proper? I assume I can go with 3/4" if only 1 feeder allowed.
UNelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 07:37 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,706
Rewards Points: 6,922
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by UNelectrician View Post
Thanks RJ. Do any of you guys agree with not using EMT?

So far for sure it seems like I can only run a single 12-2 (since that is what I have) and I need to use gfci breaker. What conduit to use at 12" if EMT is not proper? I assume I can go with 3/4" if only 1 feeder allowed.
I wouldn't use any conduit except where you come out of the ground. UF will not be easy to pull into conduit.
mark_kershner likes this.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 07:55 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNelectrician View Post
Thanks RJ. Do any of you guys agree with not using EMT?

So far for sure it seems like I can only run a single 12-2 (since that is what I have) and I need to use gfci breaker. What conduit to use at 12" if EMT is not proper? I assume I can go with 3/4" if only 1 feeder allowed.
I wouldn't use any conduit except where you come out of the ground. UF will not be easy to pull into conduit.
Thanks jb. I believe code requires me to go 24" to avoid conduit.
UNelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 08:11 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,706
Rewards Points: 6,922
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by UNelectrician View Post
Thanks jb. I believe code requires me to go 24" to avoid conduit.
I believe that if gfci protected, it can be at 12"
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 08:44 PM   #11
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,512
Rewards Points: 32,314
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Since you will have to buy something if you don't use the 12/2 you have, just buy THWN wires and run in PVC conduit.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 10:15 PM   #12
Disrespectful to dirt
 
Fishbulb28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,075
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Quote:
I did contemplate pvc however the ground is very hard and 13" is about the best sledding for me to manually dig it...that's why I was going with the metal. I already dug 20' at around 13"+.
EMT will not help you in this situation. Only RMC or IMC permit a shallower burial depth. EMT will generally need to be covered by at least 18", same as any PVC conduit.

Hard ground isn't an acceptable reason for a depth variance. Only solid rock can be used for that. So your choices are:

1. Keep digging to 18" and use PVC (or EMT if you really wish that).
2. Use RMC or IMC at 6" depth.
3. Use a single 20 Amp GFCI protected circuit at 12" either direct buried or in PVC or EMT.
4. Use PVC (or EMT) at 12" minimum and cover with 2" of concrete.

Quote:
What conduit to use at 12" if EMT is not proper? I assume I can go with 3/4" if only 1 feeder allowed.
Rigid metal conduit or intermediate metal conduit. Both are expensive and are installed much like steel water pipe. If you're set on only installing the single 12/2 UF cable it hardly seems worth the effort and expense of using either, unless you upsize the conduit substantially for a future upgrade.
Fishbulb28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 10:26 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I believe that if gfci protected, it can be at 12"
JB, did some research. It looks like this is an accurate statement. I can do direct burial at 12" provided I have gfci and I have PVC entering and exiting the soil at my ends.

thanks for everybody's input!
jbfan likes this.
UNelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 10:29 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Marcos (San Diego) CA
Posts: 1,401
Rewards Points: 312
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by UNelectrician View Post
Thanks guys. Joed it sounds like that rule is pretty cut and dry.

KPD I have seen thy our answer highly contested and it sounds like it is not cut and dry. Is it against code or just from bad experience? I did contemplate pvc however the ground is very hard and 13" is about the best sledding for me to manually dig it...that's why I was going with the metal. I already dug 20' at around 13"+.
EMT will corrode, fast. at best if you need metal, you can get away with OCAL, or some other PVC Coated Rigid conduit.
mark_kershner likes this.
KPDMinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 10:34 AM   #15
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,564
Rewards Points: 5,384
Default

Re: Running Wire to Detached Garage?


A disconnect at the garage is required. A simple snap switch may be used.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
12-2 , conduit , detached garage , emt , uf wire


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am considering adding a subpanel to my detached garage, is my plan "correct"? bauerbach Electrical 20 02-03-2017 03:01 PM
Detached Garage Sub Panel Grounding Q integlikewhoa Electrical 15 03-12-2015 07:02 PM
Running new service to detached garge italie Electrical 2 04-22-2011 01:46 PM
Running wire to garage,HELP!! jukebox64 Electrical 4 03-17-2011 06:36 PM
running wire for 50A subpanel in a detached shed amakarevic Electrical 10 03-17-2011 05:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts