Running Conduit From Attic To Garage. - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-25-2010, 09:08 PM   #16
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


the caulk/whatever, when dealing with PVC must be of the expanding type and there must be an annulus to fill or it cannot squeeze the PVC as it melts.

If there is no filled gap and the caulk is merely sealing any minimal gap left, once the conduit melts, what happens? An open hole. If the caulk was merely on the surface of the rock, it would not have anything to push against so as to pinch the pipe. It would simply expand outward.

so, annulur gap is required. there are minimum and maximum gaps allowed

it must be filled with an expanding caulk or approved material.


and you thougth all us wire jockeys did was yank romex around the house
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2010, 09:12 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Ok, great - I see how it works now
Thanks for the info
I guess you do have some useful info
You can stay

I haven't rocked the garage yet, exisiting hole is thru old wood siding
So when I rock I'll leave an area to fill
I do have a PVC clean-out, I'm going to box that in with 5/8 rock



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running new circuit in existing conduit TomServo Electrical 1 10-11-2009 01:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Running 6/3 cable-do I need conduit? Kips Electrical 6 01-16-2009 11:36 AM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-10-2004 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts