Romex Through FMC For Exposed Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-05-2019, 12:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Romex through FMC for exposed wiring


I'm running a feed from the breaker panel to a new outlet under my kitchen sink to power the dishwasher and garbage disposal (on a 20A GFCI/CAFCI breaker). The outlet needs to be half hot so the garbage disposal can be switched, and I'm running 12/3 Romex to and from the outlet with one powering the outlet and the other acting as a switch leg.

Because the cables running to the outlet will be exposed under the sink, I'm running them through 3/4" FMC down into the basement and into a junction box on the joist directly underneath. In terms of spacing and derating, can I run two 12/3 cables through 3/4" FMC for the short stretch between the outlet and the junction box?

Cheers
mickinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2019, 02:08 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,190
Rewards Points: 888
Default

Re: Romex through FMC for exposed wiring


You doing it the hard way and don't need 12/3 cable. Run 2 wire to box under sink and a 2 wire to the switch.

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2019, 02:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Re: Romex through FMC for exposed wiring


Realizing I had a total brain fart writing that post. I actually am using 2 wire (12/2). In that case, doing it the way I'm doing it is ok?
mickinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts