Rocker Switch Panel Or Box?? Do They Make It? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-31-2009, 02:46 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rocker Switch panel or box?? Do they make it?


I'm in the process of building a "fish" room for my 210 gallon in wall reef tank. I am running the electric and I want to have a box mounted in one location that will let me control all the different equipment(pumps, Co2, lighting,heaters...etc.).
I have seen a few pictures in the past of similar things on the different saltwater forums.
My question is, Do they make such a thing or would this have to be a custom built item?

I will need about 10-12 rocker switches.

Thanks for any help!
Wired is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2009, 03:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


120v or 24v?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2009, 08:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


You could build a 10-12 gang box and cover plate.....but why? If you insist, look at The Home Depot for "gangable" metal boxes. You basically take the sides off and put a hundred of them together if you'd like.

Same with the cover plates. Two end oieces and however many in between.

I'd just use some two, three or four gang plastic boxes. Standard boxes, standard covers.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2009, 08:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Saltwater aquariums are a whole 'nother ball game
I have a 170g system setup right now, a 300g tank to be setup
I have multiple circuits, multiple heaters, multiple pumps
You want GFCI's on each device
You do not want one GFCI kicking out multiple devices (except lights)
The advantage of lighted rocker switches are you can tell when they are on/off
I used GFCI's w/lights built in
I used to have a pic of someones setup w/rocker switches, can't find it
It did look pretty nice

Here is a setup some built using standard switches
They opted to have one GFCI portect each row of outlets/switches
Not my choice
I think they had 4 power cords so each row was on a different circuit
Like that tilted quad ??





Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:49 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need info from scuba-dave


Sorry to use this method to reach you but: can you give me a contact name or phone number for those ROTO flashing kits you said you purchased in MA? I need to purchase 3 kits for a re-roof of my home and have not had any luck on the internet or through local Cape Cod lumberyards.....thanks
capetrooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Entered info into your other thread
Sorry, missed that



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:34 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thanks


thanks for the info. I will check with them and also try the insladome website. Again sorry for use of this thread to try and reach you. Got to set aside a few months to figure out how to use this chatroom....
capetrooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:07 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


ScubaDave.,

Just one question realted to the panel you made or the photo for this set up is that two circuit or more ?

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


It's not my setup
I prefer everything built into a wall/bench & spread out
I have some equipment on the 1st floor & some in the basement

It was my understanding that once completed it had 4 dedicated 20a circuits feeding it
Some of the SW aquariums I have seen are very complex
Some of the electric setups are more for show......

I actually almost bought a 650g setup
But at the time I didn't have anywhere to put it...now I do



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:30 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Ahh ok thanks for getting this straght with me and one of my customer he have get this .,,, 1200 gallon saltwater fish/reed tank now that is huge one. { he is talking about getting bigger one }

For the lights I have that set up with combation of 250 W MH {metal Halide } and Flourscent to simutmted three diffrent light level in fishtank it look pretty cool there and that one I done it have it own subpanel (10 circuits ) plus couple timers { intermatic T103's } to feed all the related items and yes that subpanel is hook up to the stand by generator in case power failure.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
GFCI feeing subpanel question scott2332 Electrical 45 02-28-2009 03:15 PM
Leviton Lighted 3-way Rocker. Switch works but does not illuminate J187 Electrical 16 01-04-2009 12:21 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts