Rewiring Kitchen Lights - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-23-2009, 02:45 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

rewiring kitchen lights


Currently we have recessed lighting in our kitchen. There are three light switches that control these lights. My plan is to pull power from one of the three switches and use that switch to control hanging lights that I want to install over the bar. I need wiring diagrams to see how and where to pull power and separate the wiring scheme that it currently has. I bought a electrical book thinking it would give me the basics for it, but it was so generic that it was no help. Any suggestions?
Thanks
tabeckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2009, 04:58 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Are any of these switches in a multi-gang box, and are any of the other switches present single pole type?

You will need to open up all 3 switch boxes, and identify how many wires/cables are present in each. Also, a voltage tester would be appropriate to determine whether you have a "hot" line available to do the rewiring you want and have it work properly.


Questions like this will be necessary to answer.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2009, 05:09 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,828
Rewards Points: 30,972
Blog Entries: 11
Default


We need more info on the wiring in the switch box where you want to pull power. It might be possible from one switch, all switches or no switches.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2009, 06:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
My plan is to pull power from one of the three switches and use that switch to control hanging lights that I want to install over the bar.
If you want the new lights to go on with the existing ones, tie into an existing light instaed of the switch so you don't have to get a cable down the wall.

If you want a new switch to control the new lights you have to add a switch in the box which means changing the box and getting a cable down the wall.

Another thought is to put the existing cans from switch A with the cans on switch B and use switch A for the new lights.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit WaldenL Electrical 5 08-28-2009 01:16 PM
kitchen under cabinet lights DIYGST Electrical 1 01-05-2009 01:01 PM
Kitchen Lights - Weird Problem Chris Newell Electrical 6 11-08-2008 11:06 AM
Replacing Dimmer for kitchen lights tmcguirk Electrical 2 04-16-2008 08:38 PM
Rewiring a switched receptacle to recessed lights b-boy Electrical 4 03-03-2007 07:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts