Rewired Fish Tank Fixture - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 12:43 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewired fish tank fixture


I converted my pin base fluorescent fish tank fixture to the screw-in type, but so far it hasn't gone as planned. I have done this before but the only difference is that this fixture doesn't have a switch like the other one. I found a way to rewire it to make it work but so far only one of the bulbs turns on while the other one flickers at first but then stays only dimly lit. I have changed bulbs and wires but no matter what I try only one bulb stays brightly lit while the other one is barely on. What seems to be the problem? Both bulbs are 20 watts each.

I have attached a photo of what it looks like and a diagram.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Rewired fish tank fixture-100_6569.jpg   Rewired fish tank fixture-diagram.jpg  

Last edited by Darksome; 01-13-2010 at 01:34 AM.
Darksome is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 01:48 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


What you did is hook up in series that why the lights work very funky .,

now what you need to do this in correct way what we call parllel connection so what it mean for your zip cord you will have to look little more closer the smooth side is hot while the ribbed or marked is netural so what you have to do .,,

get two yellow wirenuts {Marttee } .,

make two pig tails each so total of 4 but follow the instruction carefull if done right both bulbs will lit up nice.

take the ribbed zipcord and two pigtail { white one or ribbed } and that pigtails will go to silver screw.

then take the smooth one and two pigtail that will go to brass colour screw and you are good to go.

However you will have to get proper support for bulb socket you can not just leave them hanging loose at all.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 05:44 AM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


i'm curious as well.... how are you mounting the sockets?
here's what marc described.

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Rewired fish tank fixture-diagram.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 12:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,110
Rewards Points: 310
Default


You have the bulbs connected so they only get 1/2 voltage each. CFL bulbs will not work on 1/2 voltage. Incandescent bulbs will work at 1/2 brightness.
Hook it up as shown above and it will work just fine.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:06 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I only have one wire, the one that came in with the lamp fixture...it's copper (hot)...on the new diagram there are two wires but where do I connect the ribbed/ silver (neutral) wire? I'm not much of an electrician so please keep it simple, the wording that is. I'll have no problem putting it together after that. I got lost on pigtails and onward.

I have a holding bracket for the sockets that I will just screw into place.

Thanks
Darksome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:14 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


one wire?
the plug should have 2 wires connected to it. one hot and one neutral.
if not, you need a new plug and wire.
wire according to above diagram and you'll be fine.
(hot goes to small end of plug, neutral goes on larger side)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:40 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
one wire?
the plug should have 2 wires connected to it. one hot and one neutral.
if not, you need a new plug and wire.
wire according to above diagram and you'll be fine.
(hot goes to small end of plug, neutral goes on larger side)

DM
Sorry for the confusion. The plug has two wires, which I'm assuming are both hot and neutral, but they are both copper.
Darksome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:45 PM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


trace small plug spade to hot, large to neutral.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:53 PM   #9
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Understood.
Now on the new diagram, how do I attach the copper (neutral) wire to the ribbed/ lead (neutral) wire? The ribbed/ lead wire isn't attached to the plug. Can these two touch, put them in a wire nut?
Darksome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 07:15 PM   #10
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
What you did is hook up in series that why the lights work very funky .,

now what you need to do this in correct way what we call parllel connection so what it mean for your zip cord you will have to look little more closer the smooth side is hot while the ribbed or marked is netural so what you have to do .,,

get two yellow wirenuts {Marttee } .,

make two pig tails each so total of 4 but follow the instruction carefull if done right both bulbs will lit up nice.

take the ribbed zipcord and two pigtail { white one or ribbed } and that pigtails will go to silver screw.

then take the smooth one and two pigtail that will go to brass colour screw and you are good to go.

However you will have to get proper support for bulb socket you can not just leave them hanging loose at all.

Merci,Marc
Follow frenchelectrican directions. A pigtail connection is for more than one wire to be connected to a device.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 07:19 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


make another black jumper wire and wire it this way.
no wirenuts needed.

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Rewired fish tank fixture-100_6569.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 07:23 PM   #12
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Like this except you will have two wires going to device(lights) insted of one . One for each light then you will have to do the same for the hots
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 08:29 PM   #13
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


This is what I have in mind. Would it work?
Attached Thumbnails
Rewired fish tank fixture-diagram.jpg  
Darksome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 08:34 PM   #14
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


Yes That will work.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:32 PM   #15
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I rewired it just like in my second diagram and both bulbs turned on.

Thank you everyone!
Darksome is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish tank plumbing problems.. Raibaru Plumbing 2 12-15-2009 03:13 PM
Removing a 4 foot opening in a load bearing wall (for fish tank) ~callie~ Building & Construction 1 07-15-2009 06:10 PM
Toilet jpark Plumbing 18 01-05-2009 08:12 AM
Upstairs toilet pipe noise bliss Plumbing 8 01-10-2008 08:55 AM
GFCI for a fish tank? fw2007 Electrical 6 10-05-2007 01:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts