Rewire House - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 10-30-2017, 12:57 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 206
Default

Re: Rewire House


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
It's better to gut a house like this than fish wire through wall, having to bash holes in the plaster then repair.

Because if it has knob and tube it likely also has zero insulation and a messed up hvac system that was never done right. oh yah, don't forget plumbing - it's probably out of date too.

It's possible to do things in a way that doesn't ruin the character of the house but it takes real skill and using the right materials.
I would disagree. Gutting the House Sheetrock and all would be an upwards of 25-30K or more to sheet rock and paint

If there is knob and tube just leave it in the wall and make sure itís all dead wiring. Fishing the wire is not too bad to do in a small home, if you have a utility room or some of the basement unfinished you can get to everything.
pcride is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2017, 12:57 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 206
Default

Re: Rewire House


But yea exposing more problems for sure!!
pcride is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2017, 12:07 PM   #18
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,887
Rewards Points: 2,526
Default

Re: Rewire House


Quote:
Originally Posted by pcride View Post
I would disagree. Gutting the House Sheetrock and all would be an upwards of 25-30K or more to sheet rock and paint

If there is knob and tube just leave it in the wall and make sure it’s all dead wiring. Fishing the wire is not too bad to do in a small home, if you have a utility room or some of the basement unfinished you can get to everything.
It depends on what the goal is.

if it's just to re-wire, it doesn't make sense.

If it's to bring the insulation/plumbing/electrical/hvac up the modern standards, gut is the way to go.

Yes, much bigger rennovation. A house with knob and tube will also have other issues to be fixed.

Money permitting, it's the way to go.

Sheet rock/paint is diy friendly, just a question of labour time ->it's doing electrical, plumbing, etc that it's better to hire someone qualified for.
pcride likes this.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2017, 12:39 PM   #19
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 35,776
Rewards Points: 15,210
Default

Re: Rewire House


Quote:
Originally Posted by vraho10 View Post
Good Afternoon,
I'm Vaughn. So here is what I need help with. I need to rewire my house. I asked local electricians how much it would cost... (20K-25K). I thought that was steep. So I would like to do it myself. I would like to know:

What is the recommended circuit breaker amps.

Also what kind of romex to use. I found this: Southwire-Romex-SIMpull-1000-ft-12-2- roll and 10-3 Southwire-Romex for 240.

And finally: How much romex to get... I know it might seem like a stupid question but I would like some estimation.

More information: 2 Story house - downstairs: 12 Plugs, 5 switches - 1 Ceiling fan - 2 Florescent tube light fixtures - 5 Overhead lights - Washer and Dryer - Refrigerator.

Upstairs - 8 Plugs - 5 Switches - 1 Bathroom fan and I want to add on plug in the master bedroom - one bathroom row of light - 4 overhead lights.

According to zillow.com my house is 1,434 sq ft. If you need more information let me know.

Thanks!
Vaughn: There are things you can learn and do and there are things that you should not do.

You need a new panel, meter and mast, that I would give to the pro. as well as paying him to come up with a plan of what you are going to need to install in the way of lights and outlets. Have him leave the old panel in place so it is just a sub panel fed from the new. Have him install all the needed breakers.

With that plan in hand, you can run new wires to the new panel and disable the old. When done you will be able to remove the old panel.

The choice is not strip to studs or fish wire. Well it is, but the choice is wall by wall. Some might also need plumbing or hvac or repairs or insulation. And others would be easy to deal with.
Sometimes working on one room it might be time effective to work both sides of one wall.

So with some thought and planning you would have a plan for the electrical. a plan for the plumbing. a plan for the insulation, a plan for the hvac.

Then you have to mix all that up and come up with a plan for each room and determination of which room gets done first.
vraho10 likes this.
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nealtw For This Useful Post:
vraho10 (10-31-2017)
Old 10-31-2017, 01:08 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sebastopol, Northern California
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Rewire House


All good feed back - Yes when people in the area want to rebuild their will be no electricians available. Also I have no HVAC, just natural AC (Redwood) and a floor heater (Needs to be replaced). Maybe I will get a HVAC system (maybe).

I contacted the city I can get a permit to do it myself. I have a few more electricians coming to look at the project. All gave ball park estimates so far. I will ask for a paper estimate. The lowest estimate is 10K but that seems low considering all the feedback.

Yes - Just a rewire job. New switches, romex, etc.

Most of the inside is sheet rock. Paint I can get no problem (I might already have some).

Thank you for the feedback. I will wait to decide on anything, but when I do I will let you all know.

Thank you again!
Blue Marjan likes this.
vraho10 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vraho10 For This Useful Post:
Nealtw (10-31-2017)
Old 10-31-2017, 09:15 AM   #21
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,311
Rewards Points: 31,930
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Rewire House


It will be surprising if you can get a hard estimate as there are too many variables for a job like this.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
120v , 240v , breaker , rewire


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on Construction of my House: Built in 1980's, questioning structural design ejumps Building & Construction 4 03-05-2016 05:55 PM
water mitigation around house tnprogrammer Building & Construction 4 02-22-2016 03:10 PM
Feasible to rewire house with only roof off? darsunt Electrical 6 06-23-2014 06:26 AM
Wanting to Rewire house and Garage bobmartin888 Electrical 12 02-06-2014 06:42 PM
Rewire of old house Breakingcustom Electrical 15 03-18-2010 05:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts