Revisiting Aquestion I Posted Last Week - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-18-2010, 05:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Revisiting aquestion I posted last week


Splitting a 220v circuit into two 110v. Got all of the pertinent information, and thought I was doing fine until I learned, as the result of another question, that the lighting on one branch of the split run with #14 wire on one of my 20A circuit is a big NO NO.

New question: Can I simply change the double 20A breaker in the panel to a double 15A breaker to serve the splits? Wire from the panel is an old dryer line, #10/3. Split is in a new junction box which I needed primarily for lighting and a couple of low use plugs in a new stairway and hallway. Neither new circuit is going to have much on it, so I could actually cap off one leg, but thought that I would use one half for the plugs, and one for the lights.

OK ? Any issues ?

As always, thanks !!
dsoelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-18-2010, 05:34 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dsoelter View Post
Splitting a 220v circuit into two 110v. Got all of the pertinent information, and thought I was doing fine until I learned, as the result of another question, that the lighting on one branch of the split run with #14 wire on one of my 20A circuit is a big NO NO.

New question: Can I simply change the double 20A breaker in the panel to a double 15A breaker to serve the splits? Wire from the panel is an old dryer line, #10/3. Split is in a new junction box which I needed primarily for lighting and a couple of low use plugs in a new stairway and hallway. Neither new circuit is going to have much on it, so I could actually cap off one leg, but thought that I would use one half for the plugs, and one for the lights.

OK ? Any issues ?

As always, thanks !!
Yes, you can oversize the wire for a circuit. You would be fine using a 15A breaker with #10 wire.

Make sure that you use a maximum of a 20A breaker on the second circuit because even tho you have #10 wire, there will be #12 or smaller downstream. You can't feed a general receptacle circuit with 30A anyway.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-18-2010, 05:35 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,044
Rewards Points: 1,024
Blog Entries: 2
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dsoelter View Post
Splitting a 220v circuit into two 110v. Got all of the pertinent information, and thought I was doing fine until I learned, as the result of another question, that the lighting on one branch of the split run with #14 wire on one of my 20A circuit is a big NO NO.

New question: Can I simply change the double 20A breaker in the panel to a double 15A breaker to serve the splits? Wire from the panel is an old dryer line, #10/3. Split is in a new junction box which I needed primarily for lighting and a couple of low use plugs in a new stairway and hallway. Neither new circuit is going to have much on it, so I could actually cap off one leg, but thought that I would use one half for the plugs, and one for the lights.

OK ? Any issues ?

As always, thanks !!
Should be fine, change the breaker to a 15A.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-18-2010, 10:44 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


you should be ok as long you use the 15 amp duex pole breakers due you have 2.5mm˛ { #14 AWG } conductors.

And make a note on the 6.0mm˛ { #10 AWG } conductor to give someone else a head up what that is served on so that way someone in future don't change it to 30 amp breaker for some reason.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 4th of July week creamaster Project Showcase 7 07-13-2010 09:13 PM
buying shingles next week, before i do...... racebum Roofing/Siding 19 06-05-2010 02:32 PM
1 Week Old Shower - Water Pressure Disappeared? ClarendonCondo Plumbing 8 10-18-2009 06:41 AM
bathroom, electrical, plumbing in 1 week jeeper Project Showcase 15 10-09-2009 03:13 PM
Hello from IA ZooKeeper General DIY Discussions 5 12-02-2007 09:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts