Repurpose Electric Range Wiring For A Fridge? - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-14-2018, 08:29 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Repurpose electric range wiring for a fridge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RAL238 View Post
It's possible that something about the branch circuit caused damage to the refrigerators. A simple test would be to measure the voltage at the outlet that the refrigerator is plugged into while the compressor is running (i.e. you want to measure the voltage under load). You should see something in the neighborhood of 120VAC. If it is significantly over or under, that could cause problems.
The outlet with nothing plugged into it is 120.5 - is this OK when not under load?

How do I test it under load? Pull the plug out enough to insert the multimeter leads? OR do you mean test the second outlet which is adjacent to the outlet with the fridge plugged into it?

Last edited by Notapro2018; 10-14-2018 at 08:35 PM. Reason: Clarity
Notapro2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2018, 09:03 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: New York State
Posts: 495
Rewards Points: 984
Default

Re: Repurpose electric range wiring for a fridge?


120.5V is good with no load. It can be difficult to measure the voltage on the refrigerator plug itself by pushing it into the receptacle halfway. If it's a duplex receptacle, make the under-load measurement from the other half of the receptacle. If there is another separate receptacle on the same circuit, you could make a measurement there, but that would be less desirable since it may not be seeing the same voltage as the refrigerator receptacle is getting.



Remember to make this measurement when the compressor is running.
RAL238 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2018, 09:38 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: KY
Posts: 3,276
Rewards Points: 574
Default

Re: Repurpose electric range wiring for a fridge?


I am with Oso954 on this one, your new refrigerator deserves a NEW dedicated circuit. Anytime really old wiring and old electrical devices are being used in a home, the circuit's load handling capabilities can be questionable at any second of the day.

Random bad connections in feed through receptacles or maybe even a "nail on" cable staple inside the wall that has nicked a hot conductor while reducing the ampacity of the conductor. Lots of unknowns with old house wiring, that can unknowingly be breaking down under load and ruin motors.

I live in a 1959 home with its original wiring and I have found some nasty wiring. The pic is a 10/3 NM-WG cable that was in our crawlspace fastened to the bottom of the floor joists for 45 feet. It was tapped on to with open and taped splices that was then ran through the brick and out to the disconnect for the outside 3 ton AC unit.
__________________
Disclaimer: Any of my replies, advice, product recommendations, or projects that I have done that I post on this forum, are just for informational purposes only. Any reader choosing to use my postings, advice, product recommendations, or choose to duplicate any of my projects for their own use...are doing so at their own risk.

Last edited by Gregsoldtruck79; 10-17-2018 at 01:01 PM.
Gregsoldtruck79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2018, 10:38 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Repurpose electric range wiring for a fridge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RAL238 View Post
120.5V is good with no load. It can be difficult to measure the voltage on the refrigerator plug itself by pushing it into the receptacle halfway. If it's a duplex receptacle, make the under-load measurement from the other half of the receptacle. If there is another separate receptacle on the same circuit, you could make a measurement there, but that would be less desirable since it may not be seeing the same voltage as the refrigerator receptacle is getting.



Remember to make this measurement when the compressor is running.
Thx. Will try and let you know.
Notapro2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 10:38 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Repurpose electric range wiring for a fridge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregsoldtruck79 View Post
I am with Oso954 on this one, your new refrigerator deserves a NEW dedicated circuit. Anytime really old wiring and old electrical devices are being used in a home, the circuit's load handling capabilities can be questionable at any second of the day.

Random bad connections in feed through receptacles or maybe even a "nail on" cable staple inside the wall that has nicked a hot conductor while reducing the ampacity of the conductor. Lots of unknowns with old house wiring, that can unknowingly be breaking down under load and ruin motors.

I live in a 1959 home with its original wiring and I have found some nasty wiring. The pic is a 10/3 NM-WG cable that was in our crawlspace fastened to the bottom of the floor joists for 45 feet. It was tapped on to with open and taped splices that was then ran through the brick and out to the disconnect for the outside 3 ton AC unit.
Agreed.
Notapro2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 05:35 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,194
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Re: Repurpose electric range wiring for a fridge?


In post#23 you wrote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notapro2018 View Post
I just bought my 3rd fridge in 9 years and someone suggested I should test the line. I own a Sperry DM-4400A but have no clue how to test a circuit for what might be killing my fridges.
and (at post#31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notapro2018 View Post
The outlet with nothing plugged into it is 120.5 - is this OK when not under load?
How do I test it under load?
It seems that you have had 3 "fridges" in 9 years and you suspect that the problem may lie in the Voltage supplied via the circuit to which each and all of these have been connected.

(Both Low and High Voltage could cause such problems.)

As you have a Voltmeter, one way to test the voltage supplyed to the "fridge" would be to temporarily
plug a Power-Strip into the socket-outlet concerned
plug the "fridge" to one of the outlets of this Power-Strip
insert the probes of your Voltmeter into the Line and Neutral sockets of another outlet of this Power-Strip and
read the Voltage supplied when the "fridge" is NOT operating (120 V - approximately) and when it IS operating.

Under load, the Voltage should not vary significantly - certainly, not more than 5 V, if that (!)

You might also consider measuring the Voltage indicated by your meter utilising this set-up when other kitchen appliances (or other heavy current devices - such as vacuum cleaners) are switched on and off, both when the "fridge" is in operation and when it is not.

Any significant changes in the Voltage indicated as being supplied to your "fridge" circuit when other devices are switched on or off may give readers of this post some indication as to where you might look to determine if you do have a wiring problem which is affecting the Voltage supplied to your "fridge" circuit.

Good Luck.
FrodoOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring an electric range Mikjow Electrical 2 07-24-2018 12:21 PM
Range wiring questions mustapha1989 Electrical 3 05-29-2018 10:01 PM
vintage GE electric range (?amps) to a 50 amp breaker tworock Electrical 4 08-16-2017 03:32 PM
Commercial Electric Range simanco Electrical 9 06-06-2013 07:02 PM
Replace Cook Top With an Electric Range Pengy88 Electrical 3 04-17-2013 05:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts