Replacing Light Fixture - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-11-2013, 02:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing light fixture


I have a two car garage that has two single lights, operated with one switch. I want to replace both lights with fans. When I took down the first light, I noticed that there were 2 red wires and one white one attached to the unit. I'm not used to seeing anything other than a white, black, and green. Anyone have any idea what I should do? Thanks in advance.
bobmundo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2013, 02:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,934
Rewards Points: 19,008
Default


Most likely a switch loop wire.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=3
Going to have to replace the boxes to fan boxes to support the weight.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2013, 11:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,786
Rewards Points: 2,528
Default


DO you have conduit in which the individual wires are run to the devices? Is this what you see??
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing light fixture-1-r.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2013, 11:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,786
Rewards Points: 2,528
Default


Is this what you expected to see? Electricity does not care what color the insulation is on the wire.

As a not I do not show any ground wires for ease of drawing.
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing light fixture-1-rr.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SE Pa.
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I’m just a newbie but I was betting on the first picture also. But wouldn’t that actually be not good because it implies (I think) 2 wires (the reds) under one screw on the fixture? I know people do that because someone wired one of my porcelain fixtures like that.

But as far as I understand you should use a pigtail, 2 wires under one screw is not a reliable connection? Is that true?
agoodboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a light fixture JELLY DONUT Electrical 4 01-20-2015 10:07 PM
Replacing circular fluorescent light fixture - grounding issue DynamoDan Electrical 13 05-10-2013 03:57 PM
Covering the light fixture electric box firsttimeremode Electrical 57 09-18-2012 12:50 PM
Three light fixture only one light works jenwoode Electrical 1 09-21-2010 12:08 PM
Replacing kitchen sink light fixture TrishaC Electrical 3 07-04-2010 01:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts